Stephane Peterhansel wins Paris to Dakar Rally

Stephane Peterhansel wins Paris to Dakar Rally

DAKAR, Senegal (AP) -French driver Stephane Peterhansel won the 2007 Dakar Rally on Sunday, claiming his third trophy in one of the world's most punishing and dangerous races.

Peterhansel, who also has six motorcycle victories in the tough transcontinental competition, secured the win after finishing a final Atlantic Ocean beach stretch of the 5,411-mile race from Europe to Africa.

Overall results on the race's official Web site put the Mitsubishi driver's final time at 45 hours, 53 minutes, 37 seconds. Defending champion Luc Alphand was second - 7 minutes, 26 seconds behind.

The 15-stage race began in Lisbon on Jan. 6 and took competitors through deserts, rocky scrubland and open savannah in Morocco, Mauritania, Mali and Senegal.

It ended Sunday with the race's shortest stretch, a 16-kilometer trek along the beach that ended at the finish line at Lac Rose, a pink lake that takes its unique color from a type of algae.

The race has long been known for its danger and this year was no different. Two motorcyclists died en route: French rider Eric Aubijoux, 42, suffered a heart attack and fell from his bike Saturday during an untimed section near Dakar, and South African motorcyclist Elmer Symons, 29, died Jan. 9 in a crash during the fourth stage from Er Rachidia to Ouarzazate in Morocco.

After the death of two children last year, criticism of the race's impact on Africa intensified. Organizers now hand out cartoons to villagers explaining in pictures the dangers of attempting to approach speeding cars.

Race organizers said about two dozen competitors have died in the rally's 29-year history.

Two of the stages of the race in Mauritania had to be changed because of fears of an attack from an Algerian terrorist group.

This year's rally brought in a record number of competitors, with 525 teams and 42 nationalities represented, including 250 motorcycles, 187 cars, and 88 trucks.

In the motorcycle category, France's Cyril Despres claimed overall victory in 51 hours, 36 minutes, 53 seconds. The KTM rider was 34:19 ahead of David Casteu, also of France.

The Netherlands' Hans Stacey won the truck competition in 54 hours, 3 minutes, 5 seconds. He was 3:10:52 ahead of his nearest competitor, Russia's Ilgizar Mardeev.

Michael Cash
77% Avoid Me
6561 Posts
User info in posts
Administrator has disabled public posting

Board Info

Board Stats:
Total Topics:
Total Polls:
Total Posts:
Average Posts Per Hour:
User Info:
Total Users:
Newest User:
Members Online:
Guests Online:

Andrew , Blade

Forum Legend:


Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Contact Us | Advertising | 888-99-SPREAD

THIS IS NOT A GAMBLING SITE – If you think you have a gambling problem click here.

Disclaimer: This site is for informational and entertainment purposes only. Individual users are responsible for the laws regarding accessing gambling information from their jurisdictions. Many countries around the world prohibit gambling, please check the laws in your location. Any use of this information that may violate any federal, state, local or international law is strictly prohibited.

Copyright: The information contained on website is protected by international copyright and may not be reproduced, or redistributed in any way without expressed written consent.

About: is the largest sports betting news site in the United States. We provide point spread news, odds, statistics and information to over 199 countries around the world each year. Our coverage includes all North American College and Professional Sports as well as entertainment, political and proposition wagering news.