All Times EDT
Site: Concord, N.C.
Schedule: Thursday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 3:30-5 p.m.), qualifying (ESPN2, 7-8:30 p.m.); Friday, practice (Fox Sports 2, 3-4 p.m.; ESPN2, 5:30-7 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (ABC, 7-11:30 p.m.)
Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 501 miles, 334 laps.
Last year: Clint Bowyer won the fuel-mileage race for the last of his three victories in his first season with Michael Waltrip Racing.
Last week: Kevin Harvick raced to his third victory of the year, pulling away from Kurt Busch and Jeff Gordon on a late restart at Kansas Speedway.
Fast facts: The race is the fifth in the 10-event Chase. ... Matt Kenseth, the winner of the Chase-opening races at Chicagoland and New England, leads the season standings - three points ahead of Jimmie Johnson. Harvick is third, 25 points behind. Gordon (-32) is fourth, followed by Kyle Busch (-35), Greg Biffle (-44), Kurt Busch (-47), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (-54), Bowyer (-55), Joey Logano (-59), Carl Edwards (-60), Ryan Newman (-73) and Kasey Kahne (-83). ... Kenseth has a series-high seven wins this year. ... In May at track, Johnson won the All-Star Race and Harvick took the Coca-Cola 600. ... Earnhardt is making his 500th series start. ... Kyle Larson and Brian Scott are making their Cup debuts. Larson, set to take over the No. 42 Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing Chevrolet next year, will drive the No. 51 Phoenix Racing Chevrolet. Scott will be in the No. 33 Little Joe's Racing Chevrolet.
Next race: Camping World RV Sales 500, Oct. 20, Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, Ala.
Site: Concord, N.C.
Schedule: Thursday, practice (Fox Sports 2, 6-7 p.m.); Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 2, 4-5:30 p.m.), race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 7-10:30 p.m.).
Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.
Last year: Joey Logano won the eighth of his nine series victories in his final season with Joe Gibbs Racing.
Last week: Sprint Cup points leader Matt Kenseth raced to his second Nationwide victory of the year, winning at Kansas Speedway.
Fast facts: Austin Dillon, sixth at Kansas, leads the season standings - eight points ahead of Sam Hornish Jr. with four races left. ... Kyle Busch won the May race at the track and has 10 victories this season to push his series record to 61. In the owners' standings, Penske Racing's No. 22 Ford has a five-point lead over Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 54 Toyota. Busch will make his 23rd start of the season in the No. 54. Logano will drive the Penske car. The No. 22 has 11 victories, five by Brad Keselowski, three by Logano, two by AJ Allmendinger and one by Ryan Blaney.
Next race: O'Reilly Auto Parts 300, Nov. 2, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.
Next race: Fred's 250, Oct. 19, Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, Ala.
Last race: Timothy Peters raced to his second victory of the year, pulling away on a late restart at Las Vegas on Sept. 28.
Site: Suzuka, Japan.
Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Channel, 1-2:30 a.m.), Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Channel, 1-2:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 2 a.m. (NBC Sports Channel, 1:30-4:30 a.m., 1-3:30 p.m.).
Track: Suzuka International (road course, 3.61 miles).
Race distance: 191.12 miles, 53 laps.
Last year: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel raced to the third of his five 2012 victories en route to his third straight season championship.
Last week: Vettel won the Korean Grand Prix for the third straight time. The series leader has four consecutive victories and eight overall this season.
Fast facts: Vettel has a 77-point lead over Ferrari's Fernando Alonso with five races left. ... The figure-eight track was built by Honda in 1962 as a test facility. ... The U.S. Grand Prix is Nov. 17 in Austin, Texas.
Next race: Indian Grand Prix, Oct. 27, Buddh International Circuit, Greater Noida, India.
Next race: MavTV 500, Oct. 19, Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, Calif.
Last week: Scott Dixon took the points lead in the Grand Prix of Houston, winning the first race of the doubleheader and finishing second behind Will Power in the second. Dario Franchitti fractured two vertebrae and broke his right ankle in a last-lap crash in the finale. Thirteen fans and a series official were injured when debris went into the grandstand.
Next event: Toyota NHRA Nationals, Oct. 25-27, The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Las Vegas.
Last week: John Force won in Mohnton, Pa., to open a 65-point lead in the Funny Car standings with two events left. The 64-year-old Force has two straight victories and three this season to push his career total to 137. Shawn Langdon won in Top Fuel, Jeg Coughlin in Pro Stock in Pro Stock, and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Saturday, Rolling Wheels Raceway Park, Elbridge, N.Y. Super DirtCar: Sunday, New York State Fairgrounds, Syracuse, N.Y. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
2018 Championship - Odds to Win
Kyle Busch +400
Kyle Larson +600
Kevin Harvick +600
Martin Truex, Jr. +600
Chase Elliott +900

Nascar Top Stories