All Times EDT
Site: Loudon, N.H.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, noon-1:30 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 10-11:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 11 a.m.-noon); Sunday, race, 2 p.m. (ESPN, 1-5:30 p.m.).
Track: New Hampshire Motor Speedway (oval, 1.058 miles).
Race distance: 317.4 miles, 300 laps.
Last year: Tony Stewart raced to his second straight victory to start the for the Sprint Cup championship, pulling ahead when Clint Bowyer ran out of gas with two laps left. Stewart finished with a Chase-record five victories en route to the season title.
Last week: Brad Keselowski won the Chase opener at Chicagoland Speedway for his fourth victory of the year. Jimmie Johnson was second.
Fast facts: Keselowski leads the Chase standings, three points ahead of Johnson. Tony Stewart is third (eight points back), followed by Denny Hamlin (-15), Kasey Kahne (-15), Bowyer (-15), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (-17), Greg Biffle (-19), Martin Truex Jr. (-21), Kevin Harvick (-24), Matt Kenseth (-26), Jeff Gordon (-47). ... Kahne won at the track in July. ... NASCAR reinstated A.J. Allmendinger on Tuesday, saying the driver successfully completed its rehabilitation program after testing positive for a banned substance. He was released by Penske Racing after his ``B'' sample failed. Sam Hornish Jr. took over in the No. 22 car and will finish the season. Joey Logano has been hired to drive the car next season.
Next race: AAA 400, Sept. 30, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.
Site: Sparta, Ky.
Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, qualifying, race, 4 p.m. (ESPN, 3:30-7 p.m.).
Track: Kentucky Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.
Last year: Inaugural race.
Last week: Defending series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. raced to his fifth victory of the year, outlasting Kyle Busch at Chicagoland to take the points lead.
Fast facts: The series is racing twice in a season at the track for the first time. Austin Dillon won the June race. ... Stenhouse has a nine-point lead over Elliott Sadler with seven races left. ... Ryan Pemberton has taken over as Danica Patrick's crew chief, replacing Tony Eury Jr. on the JR Motorsports entry. Patrick is 11th in the standings. ... Sam Hornish Jr., Kurt Busch, Scott Riggs and Joe Nemechek also are competing this week in the Cup event in New Hampshire. ... Ryan Blaney is in the field. On Saturday night at Iowa Speedway, Blaney became the youngest winner in Trucks history at 18 years, 8 months, 15 days. He's the son of Sprint Cup driver Dave Blaney.
Next race: OneMain Financial 200, Sept. 29, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.
Site: Sparta, Ky.
Schedule: Friday, practice, qualifying, race, 7:30 p.m. (Speed, 7-10 p.m.).
Track: Kentucky Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 201 miles, 134 laps.
Last year: Ron Hornaday Jr. raced to the third of his four 2011 victories, holding off Austin Dillon. Hornaday has a series-record 51 victories.
Last week: Ryan Blaney became the youngest winner in Trucks history at 18 years, 8 months, 15 days, taking the caution-filled race at Iowa Speedway in his third series start. Blaney, the son of Sprint Cup driver Dave Blaney, broke the age record of 20 years, 18 days set by Kyle Busch in 2005 at Charlotte.
Fast facts: Blaney's victory was the first for Brad Keselowski Racing. Blaney will pilot the No. 29 Ram for the rest of the season. ... Ty Dillon leads the season standings, eight points ahead of Timothy Peters. James Buescher, the June winner at the track and the series victory leader with three, is third - 11 points behind Dillon. ... Hornaday, winless this year, has a series-record three victories at the track.
Next race: Smith's 350, Sept. 29, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Las Vegas.
Site: Ennis, Texas.
Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, Sunday, 3-4:30 a.m.), Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 8:30-11:30 p.m.).
Track: Texas Motorplex.
Last year: Cruz Pedregon topped the Funny Car field, Bob Vandergriff won in Top Fuel, Jason Line in Pro Stock, and Michael Phillips in Pro Stock Motorcycle.
Last week: Shawn Langdon raced to his first career Top Fuel victory, beating Tony Schumacher in the Countdown opener in Concord, N.C. Ron Capps topped the Funny Car field, Line won in Pro Stock, and Andrew Hines took the Pro Stock Motorcycle event.
Fast facts: The event is the second in the six-race NHRA Full Throttle Countdown to the Championship. The top 10 in each class qualified for the playoffs. Schumacher leads the Top Fuel standings, 10 points ahead of Fort Worth driver Spencer Massey. Schumacher has three victories at the track. Capps has a 73-point lead over Mike Neff. Allen Johnson tops the Pro Stock standings, three points ahead of Line. In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec has a 10-point lead over Hines.
Next event: NHRA Midwest Nationals, Sept. 28-30, Gateway Motor Sports Park, Madison, Ill.
Site: Singapore.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 9:30-11 a.m.), Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 9-10:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (Speed, 7:30-10 a.m.).
Track: Marina Bay Street Circuit (street course, 3.148 miles).
Race distance: 191.97 miles, 61 laps.
Last year: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel raced to the ninth of his 11 2012 victories en route to his second straight season championship.
Last week: McLaren's Lewis Hamilton won the Italian Grand Prix on Sept. 9 for his third victory of the year and 20th overall. Ferrari's Fernando Alonso finished third to extend his lead in the season standings.
Fast facts: Alonso, also a three-time winner this year, has a 37-point lead over second-place Hamilton with seven races left. Lotus's Kimi Raikkonen is third, 38 points behind. Vettel is fourth, 39 points back. He has one victory this year. ... The race is the series' lone night event.
Next race: Japanese Grand Prix, Oct. 7, Suzuka International, Suzuka, Japan.
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: 4-Crown Nationals, Friday, Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio; Commonwealth Clash, Saturday, Lernerville Speedway, Sarver, Pa. Late Model: NAPA Down `n Dirty 100, Saturday, Berlin Raceway, Marne, Mich. Online:
U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Silver Crown, Sprint Car and Midget: 4-Crown Nationals, Saturday, Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
2018 Championship - Odds to Win
Kyle Busch +400
Kyle Larson +600
Kevin Harvick +600
Martin Truex, Jr. +600
Chase Elliott +900

Nascar Top Stories