HSBC Champions Odds

The World Golf Championships hosts the 2009 HSBC Champions this week, beginning Thursday from Sheshan International, in Shanghai, China.

Some of the top golfers in the world are playing in this event, and the No. 1 ranked player, Tiger Woods, is the overwhelming favorite to win.
Bet The WGC-HSBC Champions
Woods enters the tournament as a 7/4 favorite to win according to the online sports book SBGGLOBAL. Other short odds to win are Phil Mickelson (12/1), Padraig Harrington (15/1), and Lee Westwood (20/1).
Woods has not won this event in the four years of its existence, but has finished second on two occasions, in 2005 and 2006. Woods has won six events in 2009 and finished outside the top 11 just two times this year. Woods has finished first or second in six of his last seven events, which is why odds makers have him as the favorite.

Mickelson won this event in 2007 in a playoff over Ross Fisher and Westwood. Mickelson had the highest score for a winner in this event in the tournament’s history at -10 (278). Mickelson also placed eighth in the 2008 event, which is why he has short odds to win. Mickelson has three wins this year, including the Tour Championship at the end of the PGA Tour season. Mickelson’s last event was a 14th place finish in the Barclays Singapore Open.

Harrington has not won this event, but has played well to end his 2009 year. Harrington has made his last 10 cuts and has seven top-10 finishes during that time. Harrington finished 11th at last year’s event and was fifth in 2007. Harrington’s consistent play at this course give him short odds to win.

Westwood finished second in this event in 2007 and has one victory this year in the Portugal Masters. Westwood has finished in the top 10 in nine of his last 10 events to climb to fifth in the world rankings.
For complete odds on all of the golfers in the 2009 WGC-HSBC Champions, see below.
Odds to Win the 2009 WGC-HSBC Champions – November 5-8 – Sheshan International – Shanghai, China
Tiger Woods 7/4    

Phil Mickelson 12/1    

Padraig Harrington 15/1    

Lee Westwood 20/1    

Rory McIlroy 25/1    

Sergio Garcia 25/1    

Anthony Kim 30/1    

Henrik Stenson 30/1    

Sean OHair 30/1    

Retief Goosen 30/1    

Ross Fisher 30/1    

Ian Poulter 30/1    

Ernie Els 30/1    

Paul Casey 40/1    

Geoff Ogilvy 40/1    

Martin Kaymer 40/1    

Young-Eun Yang 50/1    

Simon Dyson 50/1    

Camilo Villegas 50/1    

Robert Allenby 50/1    

Oliver Wilson 50/1    

Ryan Moore 60/1    

Francesco Molinari 60/1    

Matt Kuchar 60/1    

Stewart Cink 60/1    

Peter Hanson 60/1    

Ryo Ishikawa 60/1    

Thongchai Jaidee 80/1    

Jeev Milkha Singh 80/1    

Rory Sabbatini 80/1    

Nick Watney 80/1    

Alvaro Quiros 80/1    

Rod Pampling 100/1    

Steve Marino 100/1    

Pat Perez 100/1    

Martin Laird 100/1    

Jerry Kelly 100/1    

Danny Lee 100/1    

Brian Gay 100/1 

Field (Any Other Golfer) 8/1
Bet The WGC-HSBC Champions
Posted: 11/4/09 10:36AM ET


Sports Betting Headlines