The 2008 NFL rookie class offers plenty of talent and oddsmakers from online sports book SBG Global have established odds to win the NFL Rookie of the Year Award.

Bet 2008 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Award

The Favorites: Darren McFadden (Oakland Raiders), Chris Long (St. Louis Rams)

Oddsmakers love the potential Darren McFadden and have made him a 3/1 favorite to win the 2008 NFL Rookie of the Year Award. On the defensive side, oddsmakers favor second overall pick Chris Long (7/1), the St. Louis Rams’ defensive end.

If he can surpass Justin Fargas and Lamont Jordan on the Raiders’ depth chart, McFadden is expected to have a terrific year. With his blend of power and speed, McFadden could tear up the gridiron this year, especially if Oakland quarterback JaMarcus Russell makes progress in his second year and takes pressure off the rookie back.

Long was drafted to start immediately opposite Leonard Little on the Rams’ defensive line. Long is blessed with exceptional talent and his drive is unquestioned. Thanks to Little’s presence on the opposite side, Long might have the best year of any defender in the NFL.

The Values: Kevin Smith (Detroit Lions), Matt Forte (Chicago Bears), Jerod Mayo (New England Patriots), Sedrick Ellis (New Orleans Saints)

Kevin Smith should start over incumbent starter Tatum Bell once the season gets rolling, so he’s a great value bet at 7/1 odds. Fellow running back Matt Forte (8/1) of the Bears is also an excellent option, considering he’ll likely be the starter in Chicago if recently acquired Kevin Jones isn’t healthy at the start of the season.

On the defensive side, Jerod Mayo looks like a great bet at 9/1 odds considering he plays for one of the best teams in the NFL. He’s going to get plenty of opportunities to make plays in New England under defensive mastermind Bill Belichick. Sedrick Ellis (8/1) is part of an improved defense in New Orleans and he now has solid talent around him to make a big splash this season.

Odds to Win 2008 NFL Rookie of the Year Award

Antonie Cason 80/1

Aqib Talib 40/1

Brian Brohm 30/1 

Branden Albert 10/1

Chad Henne 50/1

Chris Johnson 25/1  

Chris Long 7/1

Chris Williams 12/1 

Darren McFadden 3/1 

DeSean Jackson 35/1  

Derrick Harvey 11/1

Dominique Rodgers 35/1

Donnie Avery 70/1

Dustin Keller 70/1

Felix Jones 18/1 

Fred Davis 

Glenn Dorsey 13/2

Jake Long 40/1

James Hardy 30/1

Jerrod Mayo 9/1  

John Carlson 85/1

Jonathan Stewart 13/2

Jordy Nelson

Joe Flacco 50/1

Keith Rivers 8/1

Kentwan Balmer 

Kenny Phillips 45/1

Kevin Smith 7/1 

Lawrence Jackson 50/1 

Leodis McKelvin 20/1

Limas Sneed 30/1

Malcolm Kelly 50/1 

Matt Forte 7/1

Matt Ryan 13/1

Mike Jenkins 60/1

Quentin Groves 40/1

Phillip Merling 30/1

Rashard Mendenhall 12/1 

Ray Rice 20/1

Sedrick Ellis 8/1

Steve Slaton 25/1

Tyrell Johnson 60/1  

Vernon Gholston 9/1

Field (Any Other) 15/1

Bet 2008 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Award

Did you like this article? Subscribe to our Football news feed for the fastest updates delivered right to you - Click here to Subscribe


Sports Betting Headlines