British Open Start Time

2009 British Open Viewing Guide

The 2008 British Open Championship is just days away. The following is a guide to this year’s British Open Championship, complete with general information on the event, as well as media coverage, odds and betting trends.

Bet the 2008 British Open Championship

Date: July 17-20, 2008

Location: Royal Birkdale Golf Club, Southport, Lancashire, England

Starting Tee Times:

The tee-time for Group 1 is set for 7 a.m. on Thursday July 17. Friday’s first group tees off at 7:00 a.m. ET, while Saturday’s first group also tees off at 7:00 a.m. ET and Sunday’s is at 6:00 a.m. ET.

Television Coverage of the British Open Championship:

Thursday July 17
7 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. ET on TNT

Friday July 18
7 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. ET on TNT

Saturday July 19
7 a.m. – 9 a.m. on TNT
9 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. on ABC

Sunday July 20
6 a.m. – 8 a.m. on TNT
8 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. on ABC

Radio Coverage: Due to the overseas time difference, radio coverage will be offered online at TNT’s official website starting at 7:00 a.m. on Thursday July 17.

2008 British Open Championship Opening Odds:

Sergio Garcia 8/1 

 Ernie Els 12/1 

 Lee Westwood 16/1 

 Phil Mickelson 16/1 

Padraig Harrington 16/1 

Adam Scott 22/1 

Jim Furyk 22/1 

Justin Rose 25/1 

Geoff Ogilvy 28/1 

Graeme McDowell 33/1 

Miguel Angel Jimenez 33/1 

Robert Karlsson 28/1 

Stewart Cink 33/1 

Vijay Singh 33/1 

Andres Romero 33/1 

Anthony Kim 33/1 

Retief Goosen 33/1 

Robert Allenby 40/1 

Ross Fisher 40/1 

Angel Cabrera 40/1 

Henrik Stenson 40/1 

Hunter Mahan 40/1 

Justin Leonard 40/1 

Trevor Immelman 50/1 

Colin Montgomerie 50/1 

Ian Poulter 66/1 

Martin Kaymer 66/1 

Mike Weir 50/1 

Paul Casey 50/1 

Richard Green 66/1 

Soren Kjeldsen100/1 

Stuart Appleby 66/1 

Aaron Baddeley 66/1 

Anders Hansen 80/1 

Boo Weekley 66/1 

Soren Hansen 66/1 

K.J. Choi 66/1 

Rod Pampling 80/1 

Steve Stricker 66/1 

Tim Clark 80/1 

Brandt Snedeker 80/1 

Camilo Villegas 80/1 

Oliver Wilson 80/1 

Stephen Ames 80/1 

Charles Howell III 100/1 

Fredrik Jacobson 100/1 

Lucas Glover 100/1 

Nick Dougherty 100/1 

Niclas Fasth 100/1 

Rory Sabbatini 100/1 

Alex Cejka 125/1 

Bart Bryant 125/1 

Brendan Jones125/1 

David Howell125/1 

Davis Love III 125/1 

Gregory Havret 125/1 

Nick O'Hern 125/1 

Pat Perez 125/1 

Peter Hanson 150/1 

Richard Sterne 150/1 

Ryuji Imada 150/1 

Scott Verplank 150/1 

Sean O'Hair 125/1 

Simon Khan 150/1 

Woody Austin 150/1 

Zach Johnson 100/1 

Alexander Noren 125/1 

Ben Curtis 150/1 

Damien McGrane 150/1 

David Frost 175/1 

Graeme Storm175/1 

J.B. Holmes 150/1 

James Kingston175/1 

Jeff Quinney 125/1 

Jerry Kelly 175/1 

Johan Edfors 175/1 

John Daly 175/1 

Matt Kuchar 175/1 

Paul Lawrie 175/1 

Richard Finch 175/1 

Rocco Mediate 125/1 

Simon Dyson 200/1 

Tom Lehman 200/1 

David Duval 200/1 

Gregory Bourdy 200/1 

Jeff Overton 200/1 

John Rollins 200/1 

Michael Campbell 250/1 

Todd Hamilton 200/1 

Mark Calcavecchia 250/1 

Jean Van de Velde 300/1 

The Field ( Any Other Golfer) 10/1 

British Open Championship Information:

The Open Championship, or more commonly called The British Open, is the oldest of the four major men’s golf championships. Of the four major championships, the Open Championship is the only one held outside the United States and is administered by the R&A.

The first British Open was played in 1860 at Prestwick Golf Club, which is located in Prestwick, South Ayrshire, Scotland. The British Open didn’t become an official PGA Tour event until 1995, but all Open Championships that occurred before 1995 are still classified as PGA Tour wins.

Golfers from Scotland have had the most success at the British Open, totaling 42 wins and 22 winners. The United States has had the second most success, collecting 41 wins over 26 winners. England is third, with 27 wins and 14 winners.

On an invidiual basis, Harry Vardon has earned the most British Open victories with six. James Braid, J.H. Taylor, Peter Thomson and Tom Watson have collected five Open Championships, while Walter Hagen, Bobby Locke, Old Tom Morris, Young Tom Morris, Willie Park and Snr have collected three. Tiger Woods has collected a total of three Open Championship wins.

2007 British Open Results and Payouts

1. Padraig Harrington, Ireland, 277 (-7), $750,000 Winnings (25/1 odds to win)

1. Sergio Garcia, Spain, 277 (-7), $450,000 Winnings (Lost in one-round playoff) (28/1 odds to win)

3. Andres Romero, Argentina, 278 (-6), $290,000 Winnings (Individual odds N/A, Field 11/4 odds to win)

4. Ernie Els, South Africa, 279 (-5), $200,000 Winnings (14/1 odds to win)

4. Richard Green, Australia, 279 (-5), $200,000 Winnings (Individual odds N/A, Field 11/4 odds to win)

Check out our other 2008 British Open Championship Pages:

- British Open Championship Odds

- British Open Championship Prop Odds and Unusual Wagers

- British Open Championship Head to Head Prop Odds

Bet the 2008 British Open Championship

Did you like this article? Subscribe to our Golf news feed for the fastest updates delivered right to you - Click here to Subscribe

Official website:

Recent Discussions

MLB FOR WED TUES GOO on Wed, Aug 2021 by Timmy1961
RUNNIN LATE. on Wed, Aug 2021 by Timmy1961
MLB FOR MON SUN NOTES SPLIT on Mon, Aug 2021 by Timmy1961
Gold cup on Sun, Aug 2021 by Surfer

Sports Betting Headlines