So, what time will the first pitch be thrown out at the 2008 MLB All-Star Game? We’re glad you asked. Below is a guide to the 79th MLB All-Star Game in New York, complete with general information on the event, as well as media coverage, odds and betting trends.

Bet the 2008 MLB All-Star Game

Date: July 15, 2008

Location: Yankee Stadium, New York City, New York

Start Time: Pregame ceremonies begin at 8 p.m. ET

Television Coverage of 2008 MLB All-Star Game: FOX Network.

Television Announcers: Joe Buck and Tim McCarver

Radio Coverage: ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage, while MLB.com will provide exclusive online coverage.

Opening MLB All-Star Game Odds:

National League +120 O/U 10

American League -140   

2008 MLB All-Star Game Information:

This will be the 79th all-time MLB All-Star Game. It’s an annual event put on by Major League Baseball at the midway point during the baseball season. The game pits the best players – voted on by fans – from the National League vs. the American League. Each year the venue is changed, with each league getting a chance to host the game every other season.

The importance of the MLB All-Star Game is significant due to the fact that the winning league gets to host the World Series. This wasn’t always the case, however, as 2003 marked the first year MLB introduced this rule.

Like many years, the Boston Red Sox and New York Yankees dominate the American League roster. Kevin Youkilis (1B), Dustin Pedroia (2B), Manny Ramirez (OF), David Ortiz (injured, DH), Jonathan Papelbon represent the Red Sox. Derek Jeter (SS), Alex Rodriguez (3B) and Mariano Rivera are the Yankees on the AL Roster. Joe Mauer (Twins/C), Josh Hamilton (Rangers/OF) and Ichiro Suzuki (Mariners/OF) complete the position player starters for the AL.

For the National League, the Cubs’ Geovany Soto made history by becoming the first rookie catcher to ever start an All-Star Game. Lance Berkman (Astros/1B), Chase Utley (Phillies/2B), Hanley Ramirez (Marlins/SS), Chipper Jones (Braves/3B), Ryan Braun (Brewers/OF), Kosuke Fukudome (Cubs/OF) and Alfonso Soriano (Cubs/OF, Injured) complete the position player starters for the NL.

Past MLB All-Star Game Results

2007: American 5-4

2006: American 3-2

2005: American 7-5

2004: American 9-4

2003: American 7-6

2002: Tie 7-7

2001: American 4-1

2000: American 6-3

Bet the 2008 MLB All-Star Game

Did you like this article? Subscribe to our Baseball news feed for the fastest updates delivered right to you - Click here to Subscribe

Official website: http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/events/all_star/y2008/index.jsp


Sports Betting Headlines