Tagliani to lead Indy 500 field

2011 indy 500 odds

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (TheSpread) – The lineup is set for the 2011 Indianapolis 500 and Alex Tagliani will start in the pole position on Sunday.

View current Sports Betting Odds

According to oddsmakers at online sports book Bodog.com, Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon are still the favorites to win this race with 9/2 odds. Tagliani now has 11/2 odds to win the race while Will Power has 6/1 odds.

Franchitti is a two-time winner of the Indy 500 as he won the title in 2007 and 2010. Franchitti has finished seventh or better in his last 5 Indy 500’s. Franchitti has one win on the year and finished fourth or better in all four IRL races on the year. He is second in the point standings, 14 behind Power. Franchitti will start in row 3 for Sunday’s race.

Dixon won the Indy 500 back in 2008 and he has finished in the top 6 of his last five Indy 500’s. Dixon is eighth in the standings. He has one runner-up in four races and he has finished outside the top 10 in all other races. Dixon wills tart alongside Tagliani in Row 1 for Sunday’s race.

20 times in Indy 500 history has the pole sitter went on to win the race and 42 times has the winner come from Row 1. That is what helps Tagliani despite the fact that he has never finished better than 10th in this race. Tagliani is seventh in the current standings and has just one top 5 on the year. He does not have an IndyCar win in his career.

Power has finished in the top 10 of this race twice and his best finish was fifth back in 2009. He has won two of the four IRL races this year with one runner-up finish. Power will start in Row 2 on Sunday from the fifth position.

The Indianapolis 500 will take place Sunday, May 29 from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway at Noon ET. For complete odds and track information on this year’s event, see below.

Odds to win the Indianapolis 500 – 2011 Indianapolis 500 – Indianapolis Motor Speedway – Sunday, May 29, 2011

Dario Franchitti 7/2

Scott Dixon 7/2

Alex Tagliani 11/2

Will Power 6/1

Dan Wheldon 10/1

Field (Any Other Driver) 10/1

Oriol Servia 10/1

Helio Castroneves 10/1

Ryan Briscoe 12/1

Tony Kanaan 25/1

Danica Patrick 25/1

Marco Andretti 30/1

Townsend Bell 30/1

Ed Carpenter 40/1

Paul Tracy 40/1

Vitor Meira 40/1

Tomas Scheckter 50/1

Graham Rahal 60/1

Takuma Sato 100/1

Simona De Silvestro 100/1

Bertraud Baguette 100/1

Justin Wilson 100/1

John Andretti 100/1

Starting Grid

Row 1: Alex Tagliani, Scott Dixon, Oriol Servia

Row 2: Townsend Bell, Will Power, Dan Wheldon

Row 3: Buddy Rice, Ed Carpenter, Dario Franchitti

Row 4: Takuma Sato, Vitor Meira, J.R. Hildebrand

Row 5: James Hinchcliffe, Bertrand Baguette, Davey Hamilton

Row 6: Helio Castroneves, John Andretti, E.J. Viso

Row 7: Bruno Junquiera, Justin Wilson, Jay Howard

Row 8: Tomas Scheckter, Tony Kanaan, Simona De Silvestro

Row 9: Paul Tracy, Danica Patrick, Ryan Briscoe

Row 10: Marco Andretti, Charlie Kimball, Graham Rahal

Row 11: Alex Lloyd, Pippa Mann, Ana Beatriz

2011 Indianapolis 500 Information

Race Date: Sunday, May 29, 2011

Location: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis, Ind.

Pre-Race Coverage: 11AM ET

Green Flag: Noon ET

TV Coverage: ABC

Radio Coverage: IMS

Track Type: Oval (200 laps)

Bet on Indianapolis 500 Odds

Want More From TheSpread.com? Follow us on Twitter and Facebook or Subscribe to Our News Feeds!


Sports Betting Headlines