Helio Castroneves Odds

It would be an understatement to suggest that Helio Castroneves has had success at the Indianapolis 500 in year’s past. That’s probably why oddsmakers from Online Sports Book Bodog have set Castroneves odds to win at 5/1.

Bet on Helio Castroneves in the 2008 Indianapolis 500

Castroneves will start on the inside of the second row after only running once at qualifying. (Teams are given three chances to try and win the pole position.) The reason given by Castroneves for not making three runs on qualifying day is that he and his team felt they “squeezed all of the speed out of their car on the first run.”

As previously mentioned, Castroneves has had plenty of success in previous Indy 500 races. When Castroneves won back to back years in 2001 and 2002, he became the first driver to win the Indy 500 two years in a row since Al Unser accomplished the feat in 1970 and 1971. Castroneves also finished 2nd in 2003, as well as ninth in both 2004 and 2005. He took a step back in 2006, finishing 25th after starting in the 2nd position, but he rebounded last year, claiming a third place finish after having the pole position.

Given his past success and experience, it’s easy to see why oddsmakers have established Castroneves as one of the favorites to win the 92nd running of the Indianapolis 500. His 5/1 odds are only rivaled by Wheldon (4/1) and matched by Tony Kanaan, who also has 5/1 odds to win. Castroneves is the current points leader for the IRL and will be a popular choice to win this Sunday’s race.

2008 Helio Castroneves Odds to Win The 92nd Indianapolis 500

Bodog: 50/1

Sportsbook.com: 50/1

- View current odds

2008 Helio Castroneves Driver-to-Driver Matchups in The 92nd Indianapolis 500

Coming soon – check back.

Helio Castroneves

Team: Team Penske

Rank: 1

Points Behind: Leader

2008 Indy 500 Driver Profiles & Odds

- A.J. Foyt IV

- Buddy Rice

- Dan Wheldon

- Danica Patrick

- Ed Carpenter

- Ernesto Viso

- Graham Rahal

- Helio Castroneves

- Hideki Mutol

- Justin Wilson

- Marco Andretti

- Oriol Servia

- Ryan Briscoe

- Ryan Hunter-Reay

- Scott Dixon

- Tomas Scheckter

- Tony Kanaan

- Vitor Meira

- Will Power  

Did you like this article? Subscribe to our Racing news feed for the fastest updates delivered right to you - Click here to Subscribe


Sports Betting Headlines