Indy 500 Start Time

The 92nd running of the Indianapolis 500 is quickly approaching and that means racing fans are gearing up for the annual event.

Below is a guide to the Indy 500, completely with race times, television and radio schedules, odds, and other general information to get you ready for the Indianapolis 500.

Date & Time: May 25, 2008 1:00 p.m. eastern time

Location: Indianapolis Motor Speedway – Indianapolis Indiana USA

Current Indy 500 Odds: View odds and bet the Indy 500 at oddsmaker Bodog

Television Coverage: ABC & ABC HD 1 p.m. ET (Pre-race is at Noon)

Pre Race: 12pm eastern time TV Coverage on ABC

Green Flag: 1:13pm eastern time

Radio Coverage: IMS Radio Network 12:30-5:00 p.m.

National Anthem: Nashville recording artist and Dancing With The Stars Dancer Julianne Hough

Music Performances: Chevelle, Sum 41, OK Go

Bet on the 2008 Indianapolis 500

Indianapolis 500 Historical Information:

Hence its name, the Indianapolis 500 is an annual 500-mile race held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The event is occurs over the Memorial Day weekend and the race is the IndyCar class of formula (or open-wheel) racecars. The Indy 500 is often billed as “Trhe Greatest Spectacle in Racing” and is one of the oldest and most historic events in all of sports. There has only been three drivers in the race’s history that have won the event four times: A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977); Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987); Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991). Last year’s winner was Dario Franchitti (United Kingdom) with a remarkable time of 2:44:03.561. The last American to win the event was Sam Hornish Jr. on May 28, 2006, with a time of 3:10:58.759.

Indy 500 Betting Trends and Information:

- 2007 Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti started on the outside of row number 1 and was listed at 15/1 odds to win. Wagers on Dario Franchitti paid $1500 for every $100 wager with his 2007 Indianapolis 500 Victory.

- The pole position has the most victories (18) of any other position in the history of the Indy 500. The second position has the second most victories (11) and the third has the third most (10).

- No driver that has started in positions 29th through 33rd has ever won an Indy 500.

- The pole position has won two of the past four Indy 500’s.

More 2008 Indy 500 Television Coverage Schedule:

Pole Day Qualifying Day 1

Date: May 10

Time: Noon – 2 p.m. ESPN2 (live)

          3-6 p.m. ABC (live)

          6-7 p.m. ESPN2 (live)

Second Day Qualifying

Date: May 11

Time: Noon – 2 p.m. ESPN2 (live)

          5-6:30 p.m. ESPN2 (live)

Third Day Qualifying

Date: May 17

Time: 4 – 6:30 p.m. ESPN2 (live)

Bump Day Qualifying

Date: May 18

Time: Noon – 3 p.m. ABC (live)

          5 – 6:30 p.m. ESPN2 (live)

2008 Indianapolis 500 Victory Lane Celebration

Date: May 26

Time: 6:30 – 9 p.m. WTHR-TV, Channel 13 (live)

All odds provided by online sportsbook Bodog

Bet on the 2008 Indianapolis 500

Recent Discussions

Shazman on Sat, Nov 2021 by Shazman
Free Premium Service Plays For Saturday 11/27/21 on Sat, Nov 2021 by Freezerqueen
Timmy on Sat, Nov 2021 by Freezerqueen

Sports Betting Headlines