2009 Indy 500 Guide

The 93rd running the of the Indianapolis 500 is going to be here before you know it and we get racing fans ready for this year's event with a complete guide of the Indy 500.

Bet the 2009 Indianapolis 500

Date: Sunday, May 24

Location: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis, Indiana

Indy 500 Race Time: 1:00 p.m. ET

Indy 500 General Information:

Public Gates Open: 6:00 a.m. ET – 6:00 p.m. ET

Driver Introductions: 12:30 a.m. ET

Distance: 500 miles (804 km)

Number of Laps: 200

TV Schedule: TV coverage begins at 12:00 ET on ABC.

Indy 500 Event Schedule

Fri., May 8


Practice 12-6 p.m.

Pole Day qualifying draw 6 p.m.

Sat., May 9


Practice 9-11 a.m.

Pole Day qualifying (positions 1-11) 12-6 p.m.

Sun., May 10


Practice 10:15-11:15 a.m.

Second day qualifying (positions 12-22) 12-6 p.m.

Thurs., May 14


Practice 12-6 p.m.

Fri., May 15


Practice 12-6 p.m.

Sat., May 16


Practice 10:15-11:15 a.m.

Third day qualifying (positions 23-33)       12-6 p.m.

Sun., May 17


Practice             10:15-11:15 a.m.

Bump Day qualifying             12-6 p.m.

Fri., May 22


Carburetion Day -- final practice 11 a.m.-12 p.m.

Pit Stop Challenge 1:30-3 p.m.

Sun., May 24


93rd running of the Indianapolis 500 1 p.m.

Past Indy 500 Winners:

2000 Juan Pablo Montoya, 2:58:59.431

2001 Hélio Castroneves, 3:31:54.180

2002 Hélio Castroneves, 3:00:10.871

2003 Gil de Ferran[10],  3:11:56.989

2004 Buddy Rice, 3:14:55.2395

2005 Dan Wheldon, 3:10:21.0769

2006 Sam Hornish, Jr., 3:10:58.7590

2007 Dario Franchitti, 2:44:03.5608

2008 Scott Dixon, 3:28:57.6792

Indianapolis 500 Historical Information:

Hence its name, the Indianapolis 500 is an annual 500-mile race held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The event is occurs over the Memorial Day weekend and the race is the IndyCar class of formula (or open-wheel) racecars. The Indy 500 is often billed as “Trhe Greatest Spectacle in Racing” and is one of the oldest and most historic events in all of sports. There has only been three drivers in the race’s history that have won the event four times: A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977); Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987); Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991). Last year’s winner was Dario Franchitti (United Kingdom) with a remarkable time of 2:44:03.561. The last American to win the event was Sam Hornish Jr. on May 28, 2006, with a time of 3:10:58.759.

Indy 500 Betting Trends and Information:

- 2007 Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti started on the outside of row number 1 and was listed at 15/1 odds to win. Wagers on Dario Franchitti paid $1500 for every $100 wager with his 2007 Indianapolis 500 Victory.

- The pole position has the most victories (18) of any other position in the history of the Indy 500. The second position has the second most victories (11) and the third has the third most (10).

- No driver that has started in positions 29th through 33rd has ever won an Indy 500.

- The pole position has won three of the past five Indy 500’s.

2009 Indianapolis 500 Odds

Bet the 2009 Indianapolis 500

Did you like this article? Subscribe to our NASCAR racing news feed for the fastest updates delivered right to you. Get Odds, News, Payouts and More - Click here to SUBSCRIBE

Posted: 4/26/09 10:12PM ET

Updated: 5/23/09 9:07AM ET


Sports Betting Headlines