1,000M Men's Skating

Apolo Anton Ohno looks to win a gold for the United States in the 1,000 Meter Short Track Speed Skating Event at the 2010 Winter Olympics.

Bet The 2010 Winter Olympics

In the Olympics, short track speed skating takes place on a 111.12-meter oval track within a hockey rink, which features tight corners that make it harder to get around corners. Short track speed skaters compete against each other as opposed to looking for the fastest time of the entire field. The competition consists of a series of heats with four or six athletes. The first two athletes in each heat advance to the next round until only four skaters remain for the final.

While Ohno is one of the favorites, Ho-Suk Lee is expected to win the gold medal.

Lee has odds of 3/2 to win the gold medal according to online sports book SBGGLOBAL. Other short odds to win are Jung-Su Lee (11/4), Ohno (3/1), and Charles Hamelin (7/1).

Ho-Suk Lee races for South Korea and won the silver medal in this event in the 2006 Olympics and is two-time defending world champion for the 1,000 meters. He also was second in the 2006 world championships.

Jung-Su Lee competes for South Korea and is a young competitor that is skating in his first Olympics. His little experience on the world stage has led to little achievement, but he did win the 500 meter race in the 2009 ISU World Junior Championships.

Ohno took the bronze medal in this event in the 2006 Olympics while winning the silver in 2002. Ohno has also won the world championship in this event in 2005 while finishing second in 2001, 2008, and 2009.

Hamelin skates for Canada and was a silver medalist for the 1,000 meter in the 2007 world championships while taking third in 2006.

The 2010 Winter Olympics take place from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada beginning Friday, Feb. 12. and concluding Sunday, Feb. 28. For complete odds on which skater will win the Men’s 1,000 Meter Short Track Speed Skating event, see below.

Odds to win Men’s 1,000 Meter Short Track Speed Skating at 2010 Winter Olympics

Ho-Suk Lee (SKOR) 3/2 

Jung-Su Lee (SKOR) 11/4 

Apolo Anton Ohno ( USA) 3/1 

Charles Hamelin (CAN) 7/1 

Si-Bak Sung (SKOR) 9/1 

Yoon-Gy Kwak (SKOR) 12/1 

John Robert Celski ( USA) 22/1 

Olivier Jean (CAN) 25/1 

Travis Jayner ( USA) 40/1 

Jialiang Han (CHN) 50/1 

Thibaut Fauconnet (FRA) 500/1 

Weiling Song (CHN) 80/1 

Baoku Sui (CHN) 80/1 

Yuri Confortola (ITA) 150/1 

Heralds Silovs (HUN) 200/1 

Tyson Heung (GER) 125/1 

Nicola Rodigari (ITA) 125/1 

Bet The 2010 Winter Olympics

Posted: 2/9/10 4:13PM ET


Sports Betting Headlines