Men's Mass Start Odds

In just its second appearance in the Winter Olympics, the Biathlon Men’s 15 Kilometer Mass Start will be a free for-all to reach the finish line in order to win the gold medal.

Bet The 2010 Winter Olympics

In this event, competitors race over five 3-kilometer laps, shooting twenty times for the race, five after each lap. Ten shots are done prone and ten standing. Each miss requires a competitor to ski a 150-metre penalty loop. The first to cross the finish line wins the gold medal.

Norwegian competitors, Emil Hegle Svendsen and Ole Einar Bjoerndalen are favored to win this event.

Both enter the Olympics with odds of 3/1 to win according to online sports book Other short odds to win are The Field (7/1), Dominik Landertinger (10/1), and Christoph Sumann (10/1).

Svendsen, a biathlete from Norway, won the 2008 world championship in this event, but finished 12th in the 2009 world championship. Svendsen is one of the top favorites in each biathlon invidivudal event for this Olympics.

Bjoerndalen won the bronze medal for the mass start in the 2006 Olympics. He also won the 2005 and 2003 world titles for this event.

Landertinger, a competitor for Austria, is the defending world champion in this event. This will be his first Olympic competition.

Sumann is also Austrian, and he finished runner-up to Landertinger in the 2009 world championships for this event. This will also be his first Olympic competition.

The 2010 Winter Olympics take place from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada beginning Friday, Feb. 12. and concluding Sunday, Feb. 28. For complete odds on the biathlon men’s 15km mass start, see below.

Odds to win the gold medal in the Biathlon Men’s 15KM Mass Start event at the 2010 Winter Olympics

Emil Hegle Svendsen 3/1    

Ole Einar Bjoerndalen 3/1    

Field (Any Other Player) 7/1    

Dominik Landertinger 10/1    

Christoph Sumann 10/1    

Simon Eder 12/1    

Ivan Tcherezov 15/1    

Michael Greis 15/1    

Simon Fourcade 15/1    

Maxim Tchoudov 20/1    

Bjorn Ferry 22/1    

Evgeny Ustyugov 25/1    

Lars Berger 25/1    

Alexander Os 25/1    

Tomasz Sikora 30/1    

Arnd Peiffer 50/1    

Christoph Stephan 50/1    

Halvard Hanevold 50/1    

Michael Rosch 50/1    

Carl-Johan Bergmann 50/1    

Friedrich Pinter 50/1    

Michal Slesingr 75/1    

Vincent Defrasne 75/1    

Vincent Jay 75/1    

Andriy Deryzemlya 75/1    

Paavo Puurunen 100/1    

Daniel Mesotitsch 100/1   

Bet The 2010 Winter Olympics

Posted: 1/30/10 12:31PM ET


Sports Betting Headlines