All Times EDT
Site: Joliet, Ill.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 1-2:30 p.m.), qualifying (ESPN2, 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 2, 11 a.m.-noon, 2-3 p.m.); Sunday, race, 2 p.m. (ESPN, 1-5:30 p.m.).
Track: Chicagoland Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 400.5 miles, 267 laps.
Last year: Brad Keselowski won the Chase opener for the fourth of his five 2012 victories en route to the season title.
Last week: Carl Edwards won the regular-season finale at Richmond, taking the lead after Michael Waltrip Racing driver Clint Bowyer's late spin forced a caution period.
Fast facts: Michael Waltrip Racing was fined $300,000 and general manager Ty Norris was suspended indefinitely Monday for manipulating the outcome of the Richmond race. Bowyer's spin and teammate Brian Vickers' late pit stop helped MWR driver Martin Truex Jr. take the final wild-card spot in the Chase. Truex, Bowyer and Vickers were docked 50 points apiece, with Ryan Newman - the race leader when Bowyer's spun - replacing Truex in the Chase under the revised standings. ... Matt Kenseth, the season victory leader with five, tops the Chase standings, three points ahead of Jimmie Johnson and Kyle Busch. Edwards and Harvick are nine points back, Joey Logano and Greg Biffle are 12 points behind, and Bowyer, Newman, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kurt Busch and Kasey Kahne are 15 points back. ... Five-time series champion Johnson has a record 22 victories in 90 Chase starts.
Next race: Sylvania 300, Sept. 22, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, N.H.
Site: Joliet, Ill.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 2:30-4 p.m.; Fox Sports 2, 6:30-8 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 2, noon-1:30 p.m.), race, 3:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 3:30-6 p.m.).
Track: Chicagoland Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.
Last year: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. raced to the fifth of his six 2012 victories en route to his second straight season title.
Last week: Brad Keselowski won at Richmond for his fifth victory in his last six series starts.
Fast facts: Kyle Busch has nine victories this year to push his series-record total to 60. In NASCAR's three national series, he has 16 victories this year and 121 overall. ... Sam Hornish Jr. leads the standings, 16 ahead of Austin Dillon and 26 in front of Regan Smith. ... Joey Logano won the July race at the track. ... Dale Earnhardt Jr. is making his fourth and final Nationwide start of the season. ... Kenny Wallace is attempting to make his 900th national series start. He also will race Friday night in the Truck Series race.
Next race: Kentucky 300, Sept. 21, Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Ky.
Site: Joliet, Ill.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 10-11:30 a.m., noon-1 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 4-5 p.m.), race, 8:30 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 8-11 p.m.).
Track: Chicagoland Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 225 miles, 150 laps.
Last year: James Buescher raced to the third of his four 2012 victories en route to the season title, taking the lead on the last lap and holding off Brendan Gaughan.
Last week: Buescher won for the second time in his last four starts, holding off Ross Chastain in a green-white-checkered finish at Iowa Speedway.
Fast facts: Sprint Cup drivers Kyle Busch and Brad Keselowski are in the field. Busch has three Truck victories in seven starts this season and 33 wins in 111 career series starts. ... Matt Crafton leads the standings, 37 points ahead of Buescher.
Next race: Smith's 350, Sept. 28, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Las Vegas.
Site: Concord, N.C.
Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, Sunday, 3:30-5 a.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 8:30-11:30 p.m.).
Track: zMAX Dragway.
Last year: Shawn Langdon raced to his first career Top Fuel victory, beating Tony Schumacher in the Countdown opener. Ron Capps topped the Funny Car field, Jason Line won in Pro Stock, and Andrew Hines took the Pro Stock Motorcycle event.
Last event: Top Fuel points leader Langdon won the U.S. Nationals on Sept. 2 in Clermont, Ind., for his fifth victory of the year. Robert Hight won in Funny Car, Mike Edwards in Pro Stock, and John Hall in Pro Stock Motorcycle.
Fast facts: The event opens the six-race NHRA Countdown to the Championship playoffs. The top 10 in each class qualified for the playoffs. Points have been reset, with the gap from first to second 30 points and the other places separated by 10 points. Matt Hagan leads in Funny Car, Edwards in Pro Stock and Hector Arana Jr. in Pro Stock Motorcycle. ... In April at the track in the Four-Wide Nationals, Hagan won in Funny Car, Spencer Massey in Top Fuel, Edwards in Pro Stock, and Arana in Pro Stock Motorcycle.
Next event: Texas NHRA Fall Nationals, Sept. 20-22, Texas Motorplex, Ennis, Texas.
Next races: Grand Prix of Houston, Oct. 5 and 6, Streets of Houston, Houston.
Last race: Simon Pagenaud won the Grand Prix of Baltimore on Sept. 1 for his second victory of the year for Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports.
Next race: Singapore Grand Prix, Sept. 22, Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore.
Last week: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel won the Italian Grand Prix for his sixth victory of the year to extend his lead in the season standings.
ARCA RACING SERIES: Kentuckiana Ford Dealers ARCA Fall Classic, Saturday, Salem Speedway, Salem, Ind. Online:
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Friday, Clay County Fairgrounds, Spencer, Iowa; Saturday, Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. Late Model: Friday, Belle-Clair Speedway, Belleville, Ill.; Saturday, Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55, Pevely, Mo. Super DirtCar: Saturday, Mohawk International Raceway, Akwesasne, N.Y. Online:
U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Saturday, Tri-State Speedway, Haubstadt, Ind. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
2018 Championship - Odds to Win
Kyle Busch +400
Kyle Larson +600
Kevin Harvick +600
Martin Truex, Jr. +600
Chase Elliott +900

Nascar Top Stories