All Times EDT
Site: Richmond, Va.
Schedule: Friday, practice (ESPN2, noon-3:30 p.m.), qualifying (ESPN2, 5:30-7 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (ABC, 7-11 p.m.).
Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).
Race distance: 300 miles, 400 laps.
Last year: Clint Bowyer raced to the second of his three 2012 victories. Jeff Gordon was second to take the final spot in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.
Last week: Kyle Busch won for the fourth time this season, holding off Joey Logano at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Busch has 28 career Cup wins.
Fast facts: The race ends the regular season. The top 10 in the standings and the top two victory leaders from Nos. 11-20 will earn spots in the Chase. Points leader Jimmie Johnson, Bowyer, Kevin Harvick, Carl Edwards, Busch and Matt Kenseth have wrapped up Chase spots. Dale Earnhardt Jr. is seventh, followed by Logano, Greg Biffle and Kurt Busch. No. 11 Gordon is winless this season, leaving No. 12 Kasey Kahne and No. 13 Martin Truex Jr. in position to take the wild-card spots. Kahne has two victories, and Truex one. Kenseth has a series-high five victories. The points will be reset to 2,000 for each Chase qualifier. The top 10 will receive three points for each regular-season victory. ... Harvick won in April at the track. ... Denny Hamlin, from nearby Chesterfield, missed the April race while recovering from a fractured vertebra.
Next race: Geico 400, Sept. 15, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Ill.
Site: Richmond, Va.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 9-11:30 a.m., qualifying (ESPN2, 4-5 p.m.), race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN, 7-10 p.m.).
Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).
Race distance: 187.5 miles, 250 laps.
Last year: Kevin Harvick won at Richmond for the sixth time in his Nationwide career.
Last week: Harvick raced to his first series victory of the year and 40th overall, holding off Kyle Busch at Atlanta Motor Speedway.
Fast facts: Busch has nine victories this year to push his series-record total to 60. In NASCAR's three national series, he has 16 victories this year and 121 overall. ... Sam Hornish Jr., third in Atlanta, leads the standings - 10 points ahead of Austin Dillon. ... Brad Keselowski won in April at the track. ... The race is the 1,000th in series history. Dale Earnhardt won the first at Daytona on Feb. 13, 1982.
Next race: Dollar General 300, Sept. 14, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Ill.
Site: Newton, Iowa.
Schedule: Saturday, practice, qualifying (Sunday, Fox Sports 1, 12:30-1:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 2 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 1:30-4:30 p.m.).
Track: Iowa Speedway (oval, 0.875 miles).
Race distance: 175 miles, 200 laps.
Last year: Ryan Blaney became the youngest winner in series history at 18 years, 8 months, 15 days, taking the caution-filled race in his third career start.
Last week: Chase Elliott wrecked Ty Dillon in the last turn to win on the road course in Bowmanville, Ontario. Elliott, the son of former Sprint Cup driver Bill Elliott, broke Blaney's age record at 17 years, 9 months, 4 days.
Fast facts: Matt Crafton leads the standings, 47 points ahead of James Buescher. ... Four-time series champion Ron Hornaday Jr. will break a tie with Rick Crawford for the career starts mark with No. 337. Hornaday has a record 51 victories. ... Timothy Peters won in July at the track. ... Erik Jones, second in the July race, is attempting to break the age record. He will be 17 years, 3 months, 10 days Sunday.
Next race: 225, Sept. 13, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Ill.
Site: Monza, Italy.
Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 8-9:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 8-9:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (NBC Sports Network, 7:30-10:30 a.m., 12:30-3:30 p.m.).
Track: Autodromo Nazionale di Monza (road course, 3.6 miles).
Race distance: 190.8 miles, 53 laps.
Last year: Lewis Hamilton raced to the third of his four victories in his final season for McLaren. Hamilton now drives for Mercedes.
Last race: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel won the Belgian Grand Prix on Aug. 25 to extend his points lead. The three-time defending series champion has five victories this year.
Fast facts: Vettel has a 46-point lead over Ferrari's Fernando Alonso. Vettel won at the track in 2008 and 2011. ... Australia's Daniel Ricciardo will team with Vettel next year at Red Bull, replacing the retiring Mark Webber. Ricciardo is moving over from sister team Toro Rosso.
Next race: Singapore Grand Prix, Sept. 22, Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore.
Next races: Grand Prix of Houston, Oct. 5 and 6, Streets of Houston, Houston.
Last week: Simon Pagenaud won the Grand Prix of Baltimore for his second victory of the year for Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports. Josef Newgarden was second.
Next event: NHRA Carolina Nationals, Sept. 13-15, zMAX Dragway, Concord, N.C.
Last week: Top Fuel points leader Shawn Langdon won the U.S. Nationals in Clermont, Ind., for his fifth victory of the year. Robert Hight won in Funny Car, Mike Edwards in Pro Stock, and John Hall in Pro Stock Motorcycle.
ARCA RACING SERIES: Prairie Meadows 150, Saturday (Fox Sports 2, 9-11 p.m.), Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa. Online:
GRAND-AM ROLEX SPORTS CAR SERIES: Continental Tire Sports Car Festival, Sunday (Fox Sports 1, 5-8 p.m.), Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, Monterey, Calif. Online:
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Thursday, Southern Oregon Speedway, Medford, Ore.; Friday-Saturday, Silver Dollar Speedway, Chico, Calif.; Sunday, Antioch Speedway, Antioch, Calif. Super DirtCar: Saturday, Autodrome Drummond, Drummondville, Quebec. Online:
U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Friday, I-30 Speedway, Little Rock, Ark.; Saturday, Riverside International Speedway, West Memphis, Ark. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
2018 Championship - Odds to Win
Kyle Busch +400
Kyle Larson +600
Kevin Harvick +600
Martin Truex, Jr. +600
Chase Elliott +900

Nascar Top Stories