All Times EDT
Indianapolis 500
Site: Indianapolis.
Schedule: Friday, Carb Day, including Firestone Freedom 100 Indy Lights race (Versus, 11 a.m.-4 p.m.); Sunday, race, noon (ABC, 11 a.m.-4 p.m.).
Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (oval, 2.5 miles).
Race distance: 500 miles, 200 laps.
Last year: Dario Franchitti raced to his second Indianapolis 500 victory, winning under caution after a spectacular, airborne crash with a lap left that sent Mike Conway high into the fence and to the hospital with a broken left leg and compression fracture in his back. The victory made Chip Ganassi the first owner to win the Indy 500 and NASCAR's Daytona 500 in the same year.
Last race: Will Power won the Sao Paulo 300 on May 2 for his second victory in four races this year - all on road or street courses. Graham Rahal was second.
Fast facts: Alex Tagliani became the first Canadian to earn the pole, topping the field with a four-lap average of 227.472 mph Saturday for Sam Schmidt Motorsports. Target Chip Ganassi's Scott Dixon, the 2008 winner, qualified second, and Oriol Servia completed the front row. ... Franchitti qualified ninth. Helio Castroneves, the winner in 2000, 2001 and 2009, was 16th. Danica Patrick earned the 26th spot Sunday. ... Ray Harroun won the inaugural event in 1911.
Next races: Firestone Twin 275s, June 11, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.
Coca-Cola 600
Site: Concord, N.C.
Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 3:30-5 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 7-9 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 11:30 a.m.-2 p.m.); Sunday, race, 6 p.m. (FOX, 5:30-11 p.m.).
Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 600 miles, 400 laps.
Last year: Kurt Busch held off Jamie McMurray for the second of his two 2010 victories. Busch also won the exhibition All-Star Race the previous week at the track.
Last week: Carl Edwards won the All-Star Race to take the $1 million prize. He won three of the four segments in the 100-lap race, holding off Kyle Busch for the victory.
Fast facts: Five-time defending series champion Jimmie Johnson has six Charlotte victories. He won five times in a six-race stretch at the track - taking the 2003 Coca-Cola 600 and sweeping the spring and fall races in 2004 and 2005 - and also won the 2009 fall race. ... Jeff Gordon won the 1994 race for his first victory. He also won in 1997 and 1998, and has two Charlotte fall victories. ... Darrell Waltrip won the race a record five times. ... Edwards leads the season standings, 24 points ahead of Johnson. ... Kyle Busch was cited for careless and reckless driving and speeding Tuesday after a sheriff's deputy closed him driving 128 mph in a 45 mph zone between Troutman and Mooresville. ... Dale Earnhardt Jr. is winless in 104 races and has one victory - on fuel mileage at Michigan in June 2008 - in 119 starts for Hendrick Motorsports. He had 17 victories in 291 starts in nine seasons for Dale Earnhardt Inc.
Next race: STP 400, June 5, Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Top Gear 300
Site: Concord, N.C.
Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 2-3:30 p.m., 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 10-11 a.m.), race, 2:30 p.m. (ABC, 2-5:30 p.m.).
Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.
Last year: Kyle Busch won the fifth of his series-record 13 2010 victories.
Last week: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. raced to his first Nationwide Series victory, winning at Iowa Speedway to become the first Nationwide regular to win since Justin Allgaier at Bristol in March 2010. Sprint Cup driver Carl Edwards was second a day after winning the All-Star race.
Fast facts: Busch has five victories this year to push his career total to 48, one behind Mark Martin's series record. Busch skipped the Iowa race. He has 97 NASCAR national series victories - 21 in Sprint Cup, 48 in Nationwide and 28 in Trucks - to tie Dale Earnhardt and Darrell Waltrip for third place on the career list. ... Kimi Raikkonen, the 2007 Formula One champion, is making his Nationwide debut. He was 15th last week at the track in his first Trucks start.
Next race: STP 300, June 4, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Ill.
Next race: O'Reilly Auto Parts 250, June 4, Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Last week: Kyle Busch raced to his second straight Trucks win at Charlotte, his third straight Trucks victory and fourth of the year.
Monaco Grand Prix
Site: Monte Carlo, Monaco.
Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (Speed, 7:30-10 a.m.).
Track: Circuit de Monaco (street course, 2.075 miles).
Race distance: 161.9 miles, 78 laps.
Last year: Mark Webber won from the pole for the second of his four 2010 victories. Red Bull teammate Sebastian Vettel was second.
Last week: Vettel won the Spanish Grand Prix for his second straight victory and fourth in five races this year. McLaren's Lewis Hamilton was second.
Fast facts: Vettel swept the opening races in Australia and Malaysia and also won in Turkey. The German star has a 41-point lead in the season standings over second-place Hamilton, the Chinese Grand Prix winner. ... Seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher has a record 91 victories, winning at Monaco in 1994, '95, '97, '99 and 2001. He's winless in two seasons with Mercedes GP after a three-year retirement.
Next race: Canadian Grand Prix, June 12, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal.
Next event: NHRA Supernationals, June 2-5, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park, Englishtown, N.J.
Last week: Robert Hight gave John Force Racing its 200th win, beating Funny Car teammate Mike Neff in the Summer Nationals in Topeka, Kan. Spencer Massey (Top Fuel) and Shane Gray (Pro Stock) also won.
GRAND-AM ROLEX SPORTS CAR SERIES: Memorial Day Classic, Monday (Speed, 2-5 p.m.), Lime Rock Park, Lakeville, Conn. Online:
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car, Outlaw Showdown, Friday (Speed, 8-10 p.m.), The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.; Monday, I-96 Speedway, Lake Odessa, Mich. Super DirtCar, Sunday, Rolling Wheels Raceway Park, Elbridge, N.Y. Online:
U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Silver Crown, Hoosier Hundred, Friday, Indiana State Fair Grounds, Indianapolis. Sprint Car, Thursday, Terre Haute Action Track, Terre Haute, Ind.; Monday, Lernerville Speedway, Sarver, Pa.; Tuesday, Grandview Speedway, Bechtelsville, Pa. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
2018 Championship - Odds to Win
Kyle Busch +400
Kyle Larson +600
Kevin Harvick +600
Martin Truex, Jr. +600
Chase Elliott +900

Nascar Top Stories