All Times EDT
All-Star Race
Site: Concord, N.C.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, noon-3 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 5-7:30 p.m.); Saturday, Sprint Showdown, 7:30 p.m., All-Star Race, approximately 9 p.m. (Speed, 4-11:30 p.m.).
Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distances: Sprint Showdown, 60 miles, 40 laps, with only green-flag laps counting in the final segment. All-Star Race, 150 miles, 100 laps in segments of 50, 20, 20 and 10, with only green-flag laps counting in the final segment.
Last year: Kurt Busch won the non-points event, sailing past feuding Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch to take the $1 million prize. Hamlin and Kyle Busch were racing for the lead in the final segment when Hamlin tried to block Kyle Busch's pass, sending him into the wall. Kurt Busch won the Coca-Cola 600 the following week to become the seventh driver to sweep the races.
Last week: Matt Kenseth raced to his second victory of the season, leading the final 32 laps at Dover after taking two tires instead of four on the final pit stop. The Roush Fenway driver also won at Texas. Mark Martin was second.
Fast facts: The top two in the Sprint Showdown and a driver selected in fan voting will complete the 21-car All-Star field. ... There will be a mandatory green-flag stop on lap 25, with teams required to change four tires. Between the first two segments, there will be a yellow-flag period allowing for fuel, tire changes and normal chassis adjustments. Between the third and final segments, there will be a 10-minute pit stop, but teams won't be permitted to change tires. Then, before the start of the fourth segment, cars will line up in the same positions as they finished the third segment. Pit road will open and teams must make a four-tire pit stop. The cars will restart in the order they return to the track. ... Dale Earnhardt Jr. is in the Showdown field. ... David Pearson, Bobby Allison, Bud Moore, Lee Petty and Ned Jarrett will be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Monday.
Next race: Coca-Cola 600, May 29, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.
John Deere Dealers of Iowa 250
Site: Newton, Iowa.
Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying; Sunday, race, 2 p.m. (ABC, 1-4:30 p.m.).
Track: Iowa Speedway (oval, 0.875 miles).
Race distance: 218.75 miles, 250 laps.
Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the ninth of his Nationwide-record 13 2010 victories, leading 209 of 250 laps in the late July event.
Last week: Carl Edwards won at Dover, surviving a wreck-filled final lap for his third victory in the last six Nationwide races. Busch was second.
Fast facts: Busch is skipping the race. He has five victories this year to push his career total to 48, one behind Mark Martin's series record. ... Edwards and Brad Keselowski, the 2009 winner, are competing. ... Kenny Wallace is making his 500th Nationwide start and 885th in a NASCAR national series. He has nine Nationwide victories. Jason Keller holds the Nationwide record with 519 starts. ... Elliott Sadler, driving for Kevin Harvick Inc., leads the season standings. ... The series will return to Iowa in August.
Next race: Top Gear 300, May 28, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.
North Carolina Education Lottery 200
Site: Concord, N.C.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 9:30 a.m.-noon), qualifying (Speed, 4-5 p.m.), race, 8 p.m. (Speed, 7:30-10:30 p.m.).
Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).
Race distance: 201 miles, 134 laps.
Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the second of his eight 2010 Trucks victories, holding off Todd Bodine. Busch also won in Charlotte in 2005 and 2006.
Last week: Busch won at Dover to move into a tie with Mark Martin for fifth place on the NASCAR national series victory list with 96 - 21 in Sprint Cup, 48 in Nationwide and 27 in Trucks. Busch has three Trucks wins this year.
Fast facts: Kimi Raikkonen, the 2007 Formula One champion, is making his Trucks debut. He's driving a truck owned by Busch. ... Matt Crafton leads the season standings, five points ahead of ThorSport Racing teammate Johnny Sauter. Sauter, the winner in Martinsville, is the lone series regular to win in the first six races.
Next race: O'Reilly Auto Parts 250, June 4, Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Spanish Grand Prix
Site: Barcelona.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.; Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (Speed, 7:30-10 a.m.; 4:30-7 p.m.).
Track: Circuit de Catalunya (road course, 2.89 miles).
Race distance: 190.8 miles, 66 laps.
Last year: Red Bull's Mark Webber raced to a wire-to-wire victory, the first of his four 2010 wins. Ferrari's Fernando Alonso was second.
Last race: German star Sebastian Vettel won the Turkish Grand Prix on May 8 for his third victory in four races this year. Webber was second.
Fast facts: The race is the fifth of the season. Vettel swept the opening races in Australia and Malaysia. He tops the season standings with 93 points, 34 more than second-place Lewis Hamilton - the McLaren driver who won the Chinese Grand Prix. ... Alonso is the lone Spanish champion in event history, winning in 2006... Seven-time series champion Michael Schumacher, racing in his second season with Mercedes GP after a three-year retirement, has a record 91 victories, six at Catalunya.
Next race: Monaco Grand Prix, May 29, Monte Carlo, Monaco.
NHRA Summer Nationals
Site: Topeka, Kan.
Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 5:30-7:30 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).
Track: Heartland Park Topeka.
Last year: Tony Schumacher edged Cory McClenathan in the Top Fuel final. Robert Hight (Funny Car) and Mike Edwards (Pro Stock) also won.
Last week: Antron Brown raced to his second Top Fuel victory of the year, beating teammate Schumacher in the Southern Nationals at Atlanta Dragway. Jack Beckman (Funny Car), Jason Line (Pro Stock) and LE Tonglet (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won.
Fast facts: Del Worsham has won three of the first six Top Fuel events this year. He has a 70-point lead over Brown in the season standings. Larry Dixon, a 12-time winner last year en route to his third season title, is third - 79 points behind Worsham. Dixon is winless this year. ... In Funny Car, Mike Neff has a 20-point lead over Beckman. Neff won the Gatornationals in March.
Next race: NHRA Supernationals, June 2-5, Old Bridge Township Raceway Park, Englishtown, N.J.
Next race: Indianapolis 500, May 29, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis.
Last race: Will Power won the rained-delayed Sao Paulo 300 on May 2 for his second victory in four races this season. Graham Rahal was second.
ARCA RE/MAX SERIES: ModSpace 150, Sunday, New Jersey Motorsports Park, Millville, N.J. Online:
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car, Kistler Engines Classic, Friday, Attica Raceway, Attica, Ohio; Saturday, I-96 Speedway, Lake Odessa, Mich. Online:
U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car, Larry Rice Classic, Friday, Bloomington Speedway, Bloomington, Ind. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
2018 Championship - Odds to Win
Kyle Busch +400
Kyle Larson +600
Kevin Harvick +600
Martin Truex, Jr. +600
Chase Elliott +900

Nascar Top Stories