All Times EDT
Matthew and Daniel Hansen 400
Site: Richmond, Va.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, noon-3:30 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 5:30-7 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (FOX, 7-11 p.m.).
Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).
Race distance: 300 miles, 400 laps.
Last year: Kyle Busch won the race for the second straight year, beating Jeff Gordon after a late restart.
Last race: Jimmie Johnson won at Talladega on April 17, edging Clint Bowyer by about a foot with a big push from Hendrick teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. The margin was 0.002 seconds, matching the closest finish in Sprint Cup history.
Fast facts: Denny Hamlin, from nearby Chesterfield, has won the last two September races at the track. ... Five-time defending series champion Johnson swept the 2007 Richmond races and won at the track in September 2008. ... Richard Petty won a record 13 times at Richmond.
Next race: Showtime Southern 500, May 7, Darlington Raceway, Darlington, S.C.
Bubba Burger 250
Site: Richmond, Va.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 10:30 a.m.-noon), qualifying (Speed, 4-5:30 p.m.); race, 7:30 p.m. (Speed, 7-10:30 p.m.).
Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).
Race distance: 187.5 miles, 250 laps.
Last year: Brad Keselowski won the second of his six 2010 victories en route to the series title, rallying from fourth in a green-white-checker finish.
Last week: Carl Edwards raced to his fourth Nationwide victory at Nashville Superspeedway, holding off Kyle Busch. Edwards also won this year at Texas.
Fast facts: Busch has four victories in eight races this year to push his career total to 47, two behind Mark Martin's series record. Busch has three series wins at Richmond. ... Kevin Harvick won the September race at the track for his fifth Richmond victory, matching Martin's series record.
Next race: Royal Purple 200, May 6, Darlington Raceway, Darlington, S.C.
Next race: Lucas Oil 200, May 13, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.
Last week: Kyle Busch raced to his second series victory of the season, passing Ron Hornaday Jr. on a late restart at Nashville Superspeedway. Busch, also the winner in Phoenix in February, has 26 victories in 89 Trucks starts.
Sao Paulo Indy 300
Site: Sao Paulo.
Schedule: Saturday, practice, qualifying (Versus, 6-7 p.m.); Sunday, race, 12:20 p.m. (Versus, noon-3 p.m.).
Track: Streets of Sao Paulo (street course, 2.6 miles).
Race distance: 195 miles, 75 laps.
Last year: Will Power won the rain-shortened race, passing Ryan Hunter-Reay with three laps to go. The race ended at the two-hour time limit with only 61 of the 75 scheduled laps completed.
Last race: Mike Conway won at Long Beach on April 17 for his first IndyCar victory, taking the lead from Ryan Briscoe with 14 laps left. Conway was making his third start since a crash last year in the Indianapolis 500 left him with multiple leg fractures and a compression fracture in his back.
Fast facts: The race is the fourth of the season. Dario Franchitti won the opener in St. Petersburg, Fla., and Power took the second in Alabama. ... The 11-turn circuit features a nearly mile-long straightaway and runs through the Anhembi Sambadrome, a stadium-like venue that is the site of Carnival parades.
Next race: Indianapolis 500, May 29, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis.
O'Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Spring Nationals
Site: Baytown, Texas.
Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 6-8 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).
Track: Royal Purple Raceway.
Last year: Larry Dixon raced to the second of his record 12 Top Fuel victories en route to the 2010 title. Matt Hagan (Funny Car), Jeg Coughlin (Pro Stock) and Andrew Hines (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won.
Last event: Del Worsham edged Top Fuel teammate Dixon by 0.0048 seconds - about 6 inches - on April 17 in the Four-Wide Nationals in Concord, N.C. Jack Beckman (Funny Car) and Greg Anderson (Pro Stock) also won.
Fast facts: Worsham also won the Gatornationals in March. ... Dixon is winless in the first four races. ... Robert Hight has won two of the first four Funny Car events.
Next event: Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Southern Nationals, May 13-15, Atlanta Dragway, Commerce, Ga.
Next race: Turkish Grand Prix, May 8, Istanbul Speed Park, Istanbul.
Last race: McLaren's Lewis Hamilton won the Chinese Grand Prix on April 17, passing Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel for the lead with five laps remaining. Red Bull's Mark Webber charged from 18th to finish third.
ARCA RE/MAX SERIES: Kentuckiana Ford Dealers 200, Sunday, Salem Speedway, Salem, Ind. Online:
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car, Saturday, Tri-State Speedway, Haubstadt, Ind.; Late Model: Cabin Fever 50, Friday, Hartford Motor Speedway, Hartford, Mich.; My Old Kentucky Home Shootout, Saturday, Bluegrass Speedway, Bardstown, Ky. Online:
U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car, Saturday, Lawrenceburg Speedway, Lawrenceburg, Ind.; Sunday, Kokomo Speedway, Kokomo, Ind. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
Odds to Win the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup 2017 Championship
Martin Truex, Jr. #78 +175
Kevin Harvick #4 +225
Kyle Busch #18 +225
Brad Keselowski #2 +350

Nascar Top Stories

Thumbnail Ford EcoBoost 300 Picks The NASCAR Xfinity Series waves the green flag on its season finale, the Ford EcoBoost 300 later today. Here are the drivers we like to contend for the...
Thumbnail Ford EcoBoost 400 Odds The 2017 NASCAR Monster Energy Series concludes in 2017 season with the final race for the championship, the Ford EcoBoost 400 today. Here’s a look at the odds for this...
Thumbnail Ford EcoBoost 300 Odds The NASCAR Xfinity Series wraps up its 2017 season on Saturday with the running of the Ford EcoBoost 300. Here’s a...
Thumbnail Can-Am 500 Predictions The 2017 NASCAR Monster Energy Series holds the final race before the Chase for the Championship finale when drivers compete in the Can-Am 500 today. Here’s our picks for this...
Thumbnail Ticket Galaxy 200 Picks The NASCAR Xfinity Series will wave the green flag for the Ticket Galaxy 200 later today. Here’s some drivers we...