All Times EDT
Site: Bristol, Tenn.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, noon-1:30 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 3:30-5 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 9:30-10:30 a.m., noon-1 p.m.); Sunday, race 1 p.m. (FOX, 12:30-4:30 p.m.).
Track: Bristol Motor Speedway (oval, 0.533 miles).
Race distance: 500 laps, 266.5 miles.
Last year: Kyle Busch completed a weekend sweep, beating Carl Edwards and Jimmie Johnson off pit road after the final stops and holding them off over the last 60 laps.
Last week: Defending series champion Tony Stewart won at Las Vegas, making a three-wide pass on a late restart and holding off Johnson.
Fast facts: The race is the fourth of the year. Matt Kenseth won the season-opening Daytona 500 and Denny Hamlin followed with a victory at Phoenix. ... Greg Biffle leads the standings. He has three straight third-places finishes. ... Brad Keselowski won in August at the track. ... Brian Vickers is driving Michael Waltrip Racing's No. 55 Toyota. Mark Martin was in the car in the first three races. ... Darrell Waltrip holds the track record with 12 victories, winning seven straight races from 1980-84.
Next race: Auto Club 400, March 25, Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, Calif.
Site: Bristol, Tenn.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 10:30 a.m.-noon, 2-3:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Speed, 10:30 a.m.-noon); race, 2 p.m. (ESPN, 1-4:30 p.m.).
Track: Bristol Motor Speedway (oval, 0.533 miles).
Race distance: 300 laps, 159.9 miles.
Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the second of his eight 2011 series victories. He also won the Cup race.
Last week: Defending series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won at Las Vegas, leading the final 54 laps. Mark Martin was second, and Elliott Sadler rallied to finish third.
Fast facts: Busch also won in August at the track. He's driving his own Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 54 Toyota this season after racing to his last 36 victories and 38 of series-record 51 wins in Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 18 Toyota. ... James Buescher won the season-opening race at Daytona, and points leader Sadler took the Phoenix race. ... Dale Earnhardt Jr. is driving a JR Motorsports entry, joining teammate Danica Patrick. ... Kevin Harvick is racing along with Richard Childress Racing regulars Stadler and Austin Dillon. Harvick has a series-record five Bristol victories.
Next race: Royal Purple 300, March 24, Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, Calif.
Next race: Kroger 250, March 31, Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, Va.
Last race: Rookie John King won the season-opening race at Daytona on Feb. 24, holding on after turning around leader Johnny Sauter on the second of three attempts at a green-white-checkered finish.
Site: Melbourne, Australia.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 1:30-3 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 2-3:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 2 a.m. (Speed, 1:30-4 a.m., 2-4:30 p.m.).
Track: Albert Park (road course, 3.3 miles).
Race distance: 191.12 miles, 58 laps.
Last year: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel won the season opener for the first his 11 2011 victories en route to his second straight championship.
Fast facts: Vettel has 21 victories in 81 career starts. ... Kimi Raikkonen has returned to F1 to drive for Lotus, the team formerly known as Renault. The team that used to be called Lotus is now Caterham. ... Seven-time champion Michael Schumacher has a record 91 victories, four at Albert Park.
Next race: Malaysian Grand Prix, March 25, Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Next event: NHRA Nationals, March 30-April 1, The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Las Vegas.
Last week: Morgan Lucas won the Top Fuel final Monday in the rain-delayed Gatornationals, beating Tony Schumacher. Lucas had the second-quickest run in NHRA history, finishing in 3.743 seconds at 326.87 mph. Robert Hight (Funny Car), Mike Edwards (Pro Stock), and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won.
AMERICAN LE MANS SERIES: Twelve Hours of Sebring, Saturday (ABC, Sunday, noon-2 p.m.), Sebring International Raceway, Sebring, Fla. Online:
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Friday-Saturday, Thunderbowl Raceway, Tulare, Calif. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
2018 Championship - Odds to Win
Kyle Busch +400
Kyle Larson +600
Kevin Harvick +600
Martin Truex, Jr. +600
Chase Elliott +900

Nascar Top Stories