All Times EST
Daytona 500
Site: Daytona Beach, Fla.
Schedule: Wednesday, practice (Speed, 10:30 a.m.-noon, 1:30-3 p.m.); Thursday, Gatorade Duel at Daytona 150-mile qualifying races, 2 p.m. (Speed, 1-5:30 p.m., replay 9 p.m.-12:30 a.m.); Friday, practice (Speed, 11 a.m.-2 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Speed, 10:30 a.m.-noon); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (FOX, noon-5 p.m.).
Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles).
Race distance: 500 miles, 200 laps.
Last year: Jamie McMurray won the pothole-delayed race, holding off Dale Earnhardt Jr. in a green-white-checkered finish. McMurray won in his first race back with Chip Ganassi and Felix Sabates after losing his ride at Roush Fenway.
Last week: Kurt Busch won the Budweiser Shootout after Denny Hamlin was penalized for going below the out-of-bounds line on a last-lap pass for the lead.
Fast facts: Earnhardt won the pole position Sunday and Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jeff Gordon took the second spot. Earnhardt, the 2004 Daytona 500 champion, is winless since 2008. ... Jimmie Johnson won his record fifth straight series championship last year. The 2006 Daytona 500 winner has 53 career Cup victories. ... In July at the track, Kevin Harvick won the Coke Zero 400, beating Kasey Kahne in a green-white-checkered finish. The track was repaved following the race. ... NASCAR has changed its points structure. A race winner will receive 43 points and the points will decrease down to 1 for 43rd place. There will be 3 bonus points for the winner, 1 bonus point for every driver who leads a lap, and 1 bonus point to the driver who leads the most laps. NASCAR also tweaked the eligibility requirements for the 12-driver Chase. The top 10 in points after the 26th race will make the Chase field, while the final two spots will be ``wild cards'' given to the drivers inside the top 20 who have the most wins and aren't already eligible.
Next race: Subway Fresh Fit 500, Feb. 27, Phoenix International Raceway, Avondale, Ariz.
Site: Daytona Beach, Fla.
Schedule: Wednesday, practice; Thursday, practice (ESPN2, 10 a.m.-noon); Friday, qualifying (ESPN2, 4-6 p.m.); Saturday, race, 1:15 p.m. (ESPN2, noon-4 p.m.).
Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles).
Race distance: 300 miles, 120 laps.
Last year: Tony Stewart won the season-opening race for the third straight year and fifth time in six years. Danica Patrick finished 35th in her NASCAR debut.
Fast facts: NASCAR has implemented a rule allowing a driver to run for only one national series championship, eliminating Cup drivers from the Nationwide title chase. ... In July at the track, Dale Earnhardt Jr. raced to his first Nationwide victory since 2006, winning in a No. 3 car honoring his late father. ... Patrick is driving the No. 7 Chevrolet for Earnhardt's JR Motorsports. ... Elliot Sadler is driving the No. 2 Chevrolet for Kevin Harvick Inc. this year after 12 full seasons in the Cup series. He has five Nationwide victories and three Cup wins.
Next race: Bashas' Supermarkets 200, Feb. 26, Phoenix International Raceway, Avondale, Ariz.
NextEra Energy Resources 250
Site: Daytona Beach, Fla.
Schedule: Wednesday, practice (Speed, 4:30-7 p.m.); Thursday, practice (noon-1 p.m.), qualifying (Speed, 6:30-8 p.m.); Friday, race, 7:30 p.m. (Speed, 7-10 p.m.).
Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles).
Race distance: 250 miles, 100 laps.
Last year: Timothy Peters won the season-opening race, passing two-time defending champion Todd Bodine on the final lap.
Fast facts: Bodine won the series championship last year. ... Two-time Daytona 500 champion Michael Waltrip is driving the No. 15 Wounded Warrior Project Toyota.
Next race: Lucas Oil 150, Feb. 25, Phoenix International Raceway, Avondale, Ariz.
U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car, Bubba Army Sprint Nationals, Thursday-Saturday, Ocala Speedway, Ocala, Fla. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions


Driver Odds
2018 Championship - Odds to Win
Kyle Busch +400
Kyle Larson +600
Kevin Harvick +600
Martin Truex, Jr. +600
Chase Elliott +900

Nascar Top Stories