NEW YORK (AP) Chipper Jones, Jim Thome and Omar Vizquel are among 19 first-time candidates on the Baseball Writers' Association of America ballot for the Hall of Fame.
They are joined by Johan Santana and Chris Carpenter. Also among the newcomers to the 33-man ballot announced Monday are Jamie Moyer, Andruw Jones, Carlos Lee, Kevin Millwood, Carlos Zambrano and Johnny Damon.
Trevor Hoffman, who fell five votes short last year, leads the holdovers that include Vladimir Guerrero, Edgar Martinez, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Mike Mussina and Curt Schilling.
Roy Halladay will not appear on the ballot for another year. The retired pitcher died Nov. 7 when the plane he was piloting crashed off Florida.
About 430 ballots are being sent to eligible voters from the BBWAA. A player must receive at least 75 percent for election. Ballots are due Dec. 31 and results will be announced Jan. 24.
For more AP baseball coverage:

Recent MLB Discussions

Top MLB Public Bets

MLB Predictions & Picks

Thumbnail Rockies vs. Dodgers Prediction The Los Angeles Dodgers have finally strung some victories together as they have won four in a row heading into their home series with the Colorado Rockies. Is Los...
Thumbnail Braves vs. Phillies Prediction The Atlanta Braves rallied from five down in the ninth inning Sunday afternoon at home versus Miami. Will Atlanta have a letdown after the exciting win tonight as it...
Thumbnail Tigers vs. Twins Prediction Will the Minnesota Twins inch closer to a winning record at home when they play host to the Detroit Tigers tonight at 8:10PM ET?
Thumbnail Orioles vs. White Sox Prediction Which struggling baseball team will pick up a rare win when the Baltimore Orioles and the Chicago White Sox meet up tonight at 8:10PM ET?
Thumbnail Diamondbacks vs. Brewers Prediction Can the Milwaukee Brewers find their way past the Arizona Diamondbacks when the two open up a midweek series in Milwaukee tonight at 7:40PM...