By The Associated Press
Oct. 28
1958 - Construction began on the new ballpark for the Giants in San Francisco. The rocks in the area resembled candlesticks.
1981 - The Los Angeles Dodgers, behind Pedro Guerrero's five RBIs, beat the New York Yankees 9-2 to take the World Series in six games.
1989 - The Oakland Athletics swept the San Francisco Giants in the World Series with a 9-6 win.
1995 - The Braves won their first World Series since moving to Atlanta with a 1-0 win over Cleveland in Game 6. Tom Glavine and Mark Wohlers combined on a one-hitter and David Justice homered in the sixth inning.
Today's birthdays: Jeremy Bonderman 25; Nate McLouth 26; Braden Looper 33.
Oct. 29
1931 - Lefty Grove, winner of 31 games for the Philadelphia A's, was named the American League MVP.
1942 - Branch Rickey, the architect of the St. Louis Cardinals' farm system, resigned as the team's vice president. Rickey was named president of the Dodgers on Nov. 1.
1979 - Willie Mays severed all ties to Major League Baseball after signing a contract with the Bally Corporation, which is involved with legalized gambling in Atlantic City, N.J.
Oct. 30
1945 - Branch Rickey signed Jackie Robinson to a minor-league contract for the 1946 season with Montreal of the International League.
1956 - The Brooklyn Dodgers sold Ebbets Field to real estate developer Marvin Kratter. He leased the stadium back to the Dodgers through the 1959 season before using the site for a housing development.
1963 - Sandy Koufax of Los Angeles became the second player to win the Cy Young and MVP in the same year. Koufax beat out Pittsburgh's Dick Groat for the MVP award.
Today's birthdays: Anderson Hernandez 25; Ian Snell 26; Mike Jacobs 27; Laynce Nix 27; Jason Bartlett 28; Marco Scutaro 32.
Oct. 31
1961 - A federal judge ruled that Birmingham, Ala., laws against integrated playing fields were illegal. This ruling eliminated the last barrier against integrating the Southern Association.
1967 - San Francisco's Mike McCormick won the National League Cy Young award.
1972 - Gaylord Perry, a 24-game winner with the fifth-place Cleveland Indians, won the American League Cy Young award.
1973 - Tom Seaver of the New York Mets became the first pitcher to win the National League Cy Young award with less than 20 wins. Seaver went 19-10 with a 2.08 ERA.
Today's birthdays: Mike Napolis 26; David Dellucci 34; Steve Traschel 37.
Nov. 1
1914 - Connie Mack of the Philadelphia A's citing a loss of $50,000 for lack of fan support starts to clean house by waiving Jack Coombs, Eddie Plank and Chief Bender. Plank and Bender eventually signed with the Federal League.
1916 - New York theater owner and producer Harry H. Frazee bought the Boston Red Sox for $675,000.
1938 - Ernie Lombardi of Cincinnati won the National League MVP award.
1951 - Brooklyn's Roy Campanella won the first of three National League MVP awards.
1966 - Sandy Koufax of Los Angeles became the first three-time winner of the Cy Young Award in the last year there was one selection for both leagues.
1968 - Detroit's Denny McLain, the last 30-game winner in major league history, was the unanimous winner of the American League Cy Young award.
1978 - New York's Ron Guidry, 25-3, was the unanimous winner of the American League Cy Young award. Guidry led the league in shutouts (9) and ERA (1.79).
2006 - Reliever Guillermo Mota was suspended for 50 games after testing positive for a performance-enhancing substance, becoming the third player penalized this year for violating Major League Baseball's toughened drug policy.
Today's birthday: Coco Crisp 28.
Nov. 2
1913 - St. Louis Browns manager George Stovall is the first to jump to the Federal League, signing to manage Kansas City.
1934 - William Heydler resigned as NL president due to poor health.
1938 - Jimmie Foxx of the Boston Red Sox won his third American League MVP award. Foxx won in 1932 and 1933 with the Philadelphia A's.
1950 - Philadelphia's Jim Konstanty became the first pitcher in eight years to win the National League MVP award.
1971 - Baltimore's Pat Dobson pitched a 2-0 no-hitter against the Yomiuri Giants. It was the first no-hitter in Japanese-American exhibition history.
1972 - Steve Carlton a 27-game winner for the last-place 59-97 Philadelphia Phillies, was the unanimous winner of the National League Cy Young award winner. Carlton went 27-10 with a 1.97 ERA and accounted for 46 percent of the team's wins.
1974 - The Atlanta Braves traded Hank Aaron to the Milwaukee Brewers for outfielder Dave May.
Today's birthday: Sidney Ponson 31; Orlando Cabrera 33.

Top MLB Public Bets

MLB Top Stories

Thumbnail Opening 2018 World Series Odds The 2018 World Series opening odds have been released. Who is favored, who is the biggest challenger, and who is also in the mix?
Thumbnail Astros vs. Dodgers Pick Are the Houston Astros going to clinch their first-ever World Series title Wednesday night in Game 7 with an upset win at the Los Angeles Dodgers? Game time is...
Thumbnail Astros vs. Dodgers Pick Can the Houston Astros clinch their first-ever World Series title Tuesday night in Game 6 at the Los Angeles...
Thumbnail Dodgers vs. Astros Pick Are the Los Angeles Dodgers going to ride Clayton Kershaw to a victory over the host Houston Astros in a pivotal Game 5 of the World Series Sunday night? First pitch is at...
Thumbnail Dodgers vs. Astros Pick Are the Houston Astros going to win a third straight game over the visiting Los Angeles Dodgers Saturday night in Game 4 of the World Series? First pitch is at...

MLB Team Pages