The Mariners’ Felix Hernandez was named the American League’s Cy Young Award winner on Thursday after receiving 21 of 28 first-place votes.

“King Felix” won the award despite his 13-12 record, although it’s fair to note that the Mariners’ offense resembled that of a Little League team and not a professional baseball club. (And not a good Little League team either.) Hernandez led baseball with a 2.27 ERA and innings pitched (249 2/3) while also finishing second in strikeouts (232) and WHIP (1.06), so the award was well-deserved.

David Price finished second in the voting and received four first-place votes. Yankees’ starter CC Sabathia, who finished third, received three first-place votes while Jon Lester, Jered Weaver and Clay Buchholz received support from voters as well.

According to oddsmakers from online sports book, the Mariners are 80/1 to win the World Series next season. To check out futures on all MLB teams, check out our 2011 MLB Futures section.

Recent Discussions

Mlb on Fri, Oct 2018 by shawnsushi
Thursday Night on Thu, Oct 2018 by JBoppa
COLL PRO AND MLB on Thu, Oct 2018 by shawnsushi
Newsletters For 10/16/18 thur 10/22/18 on Thu, Oct 2018 by Goldust86
EARLY COLL PLAYS on Thu, Oct 2018 by Freezerqueen
Carolina Wise Guy NFL, MLB and CFB Selections 10/18! on Thu, Oct 2018 by CarolinaWiseGuy