First overall selections at the National Hockey League's entry draft (with year, player, team, position and previous club with league or country in parentheses):
2013 - Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado, C, Halifax (QMJHL).
2012 - Nail Yakupov, Edmonton, RW, Sarnia (OHL).
2011 - Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Edmonton, C, Red Deer (WHL)
2010 - Taylor Hall, Edmonton, LW, Windsor (OHL)
2009 - John Tavares, N.Y. Islanders, C, London (OHL)
2008 - Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay, C, Sarnia (OHL)
2007 - Patrick Kane, Chicago, RW, London (OHL)
2006 - Erik Johnson, St. Louis, D, National U-18 (U.S.)
2005 - Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh, F, Rimouski (QMJHL)
2004 - Alexander Ovechkin, Washington, LW, Dynamo (Russia)
2003 - Marc-Andre Fleury, Pittsburgh, G, Cape Breton (QMJHL)
2002 - Rick Nash, Columbus, LW, London (OHL)
2001 - Ilya Kovalchuk, Atlanta, C, Spartak (Russia)
2000 - Rick DiPietro, N.Y. Islanders, G, Boston U. (NCAA)
1999 - Patrik Stefan, Atlanta, C, Long Beach (IHL)
1998 - Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay, C, Rimouski (QMJHL)
1997 - Joe Thornton, Boston, C, Sault Ste. Marie (OHL)
1996 - Chris Phillips, Ottawa, D, Prince Albert (WHL)
1995 - Bryan Berard, Ottawa, D, Detroit (OHL)
1994 - Ed Jovanovski, Florida, D, Windsor (OHL)
1993 - Alexandre Daigle, Ottawa, C, Victoriaville (QMJHL)
1992 - Roman Hamrlik, Tampa Bay, D, ZPS Zin (Czech Republic)
1991 - Eric Lindros, Quebec, C, Oshawa (OHL)
1990 - Owen Nolan, Quebec, RW, Cornwall (OHL)
1989 - Mats Sundin, Quebec, RW, Nacka (Sweden)
1988 - Mike Modano, Minnesota, C, Prince Albert (WHL)
1987 - Pierre Turgeon, Buffalo, C, Granby (QMJHL)
1986 - Joe Murphy, Detroit, C, Michigan St. (NCAA)
1985 - Wendel Clark, Toronto, LW/D, Saskatoon (WHL)
1984 - Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh, C, Laval (QMJHL)
1983 - Brian Lawton, Minnesota, C, Mount St. Charles (U.S. high school)
1982 - Gord Kluzak, Boston, D, Billings (WHL)
1981 - Dale Hawerchuk, Winnipeg, C, Cornwall (QMJHL)
1980 - Doug Wickenheiser, Montreal, C, Regina (WHL)
1979 - Rob Ramage, Colorado, D, London (OHL)
1978 - Bobby Smith, Minnesota, C, Ottawa (OHL)
1977 - Dale McCourt, Detroit, C, St. Catharines (OHL)
1976 - Rick Green, Washington, D, London (OHL)
1975 - Mel Bridgman, Philadelphia, C, Victoria (WHL)
1974 - Greg Joly, Washington, D, Regina (WHL)
1973 - Denis Potvin, N.Y. Islanders, D, Ottawa (OHL)
1972 - Bill Harris, N.Y. Islanders, RW, Toronto (OHL)
1971 - Guy Lafleur, Montreal, RW, Quebec (QMJHL)
1970 - Gilbert Perreault, Buffalo, C, Montreal (OHL)
1969 - Rejean Houle, Montreal, LW, Montreal (OHL)
1968 - Michel Plasse, Montreal, G, Drummondville (QMJHL)
1967 - Rick Pagnutti, Los Angeles, D, Garson (Northern Ont.)
1966 - Barry Gibbs, Boston, D, Estevan (SJHL)
1965 - Andre Veilleux, N.Y. Rangers, RW, Montreal Ranger (Jr.B)
1964 - Claude Gauthier, Detroit, NA, Rosemont (Que.)
1963 - Garry Monahan, Montreal, LW, St. Michael's Juveniles

Top NHL Public Bets

NHL Top Stories

Thumbnail Montreal surprisingly mediocre on road Home ice has been very good to the Blues so far this season. But will the NHL’s top team put an end to the fun shortly?
Thumbnail Panthers vs. Bruins Prediction The Panthers have been a horrible bet against the Bruins but will they pull off the upset tonight at 7:00PM ET in Boston?
Thumbnail Detroit hopes to hold off surging Pittsburgh So far this season, nothing has been easy for the Red Wings. Add tonight’s matchup against the explosive Penguins to the list.
Thumbnail Caps trying to regain footing out East   Washington didn’t exactly end the month of November on a stirring note. But can the reigning Presidents’ Trophy winner return to form against the Islanders?
Thumbnail Luongo attempts to give Florida a jolt A new era of Panthers hockey begins tonight. But can the Blackhawks stand tall and deliver yet another stellar performance at the...

NHL Team Pages