|Holt says official used scoreboard to make call|
|Written by Admin|
|Sunday, 14 December 2008 14:04|
After the 23-20 last-play loss to the Seahawks (3-11), Holt said the official called pass interference after watching the play deep in Seattle territory in the third quarter.
``He said he looked up in the Jumbotron and saw that I pushed off,'' said Holt, who is in his 10th year with the Rams (2-12). ``I told him I never extended my arm. It is one thing if you extended, because that is pass interference. But everything was in motion catching the football. I don't even know if I had my hands on the guy.
``That was his explanation, and I told him it was a bad call.''
With the Rams leading 17-13 with 4:40 left in the third quarter, St. Louis took possession on its 20 and moved to the Seattle 46. On second down, Marc Bulger threw a strike down the right sideline that Holt caught at the 26 against cornerback Marcus Trufant.
he Rams to their 44. St. Louis moved the ball to the Seattle 29 and settled for a field goal with 11:09 remaining. The Seahawks trailed only 20-13 and were still in the game.
``I was surprised,'' Holt said of the key penalty. ``I could understand if I did because I would take that, but I could not understand it. It was a big play for our team. It was something that we needed. We needed some energy, something to get us going.
``To take that from us was not fair. They get paid to do what they do and we get paid to do what we do.''
Rams coach Jim Haslett said he was ``not going to touch'' the official's decision.
``That is a young guy over there, a rookie referee,'' Haslett said. ``I am not sure what he saw but obviously he thought it was pass interference, and we have to live with it. If that is what he called then that is what he called.''
Bulger offered his opinion, saying ``You just don't see a lot of offensive pass interference called in this league.''
``Torry made such a nice catch there. I think he did (push off),'' Bulger said. ``It wasn't just one play that cost us this game.''