Advertisement

 The NCAA is giving referees leeway in how they deal with players who inadvertently elbow an opponent above the shoulders.
Pending approval by the Playing Rules Oversight Committee next month, referees who call an elbow to the head will be allowed to use a video monitor to determine the severity of the blow. If deemed inadvertent, the referee could call a player-control foul or nothing.
Previously, a referee was required to call a flagrant-1 or flagrant-2.
A flagrant-1 results in two free throws and possession for the offended team. A flagrant-2 results adds an ejection of the offending player.
Some coaches have been critical of the severity of the rule, implemented in 2011-12 to protect players from head injuries. The changes would be for both men's and women's games.

NCAAB Headlines

More inNCAAB News  
Advertisement

NCAAB Top Stories

Thumbnail 2017 NCAA Title Odds Villanova always understood the myriad challenges of defending a national title. Yet the program definitely couldn’t have foreseen Friday’s bit of bad news.
More inNCAAB Articles  
Advertisement

NCAAB Team Pages

Advertisement