|NCAA refs getting leeway in calling elbows to head|
|Written by Admin|
|Thursday, 09 May 2013 12:38|
Pending approval by the Playing Rules Oversight Committee next month, referees who call an elbow to the head will be allowed to use a video monitor to determine the severity of the blow. If deemed inadvertent, the referee could call a player-control foul or nothing.
Previously, a referee was required to call a flagrant-1 or flagrant-2.
A flagrant-1 results in two free throws and possession for the offended team. A flagrant-2 results adds an ejection of the offending player.
Some coaches have been critical of the severity of the rule, implemented in 2011-12 to protect players from head injuries. The changes would be for both men's and women's games.