|SAC officials disciplined for counting missed shot as field goal|
|Written by Admin|
|Friday, 18 January 2008 14:09|
ROCK HILL, S.C. (AP) -Three Division II officials in the South Atlantic Conference were suspended and banned from working postseason games because they mistakenly credited Wingate with a basket on a missed shot during its 83-82 victory over Carson-Newman on Wednesday night.|
The three officials were listed in the game's box score as Tom Stinnett, Jeff Fancher, Tony Whisnant. Wingate athletic spokesman David Sherwood said the error occurred with 11:11 left in the second half and Carson-Newman holding a 60-55 lead. Wingate's Bryan Grier made a move to the basket and Carson-Newman's Zach Hyatte was called for a block.
The referee, who Sherwood would not identify, went to the scorer's table and said to count the basket. None of the other officials, the clock operator or either official scorer could verify whether the ball had gone in.
``It wasn't pandemonium'' but the Carson-Newman bench protested when Grier went the line to finish a three-point play,'' Sherwood said. Grier missed, but Wingate moved to just three down at 60-57.
Wingate's victory will stand since the NCAA rules committee doesn't recognize or allow protests, according to NCAA's basketball rule book.
The win moved Wingate to 11-4 on the season and 3-1 in league play, tied for second with Carson-Newman behind undefeated Lenior-Rhyne (4-0 in the SAC).
SAC spokesman Dennis Switzer said the three will work again during the regular season after serving their suspensions. He would not disclose how many games the officials would miss.
50% Bonus for New Players
Are You Ready for Hoops?
Get Your Message In Front of
Thousands of Sports Fans Now
Live Odds, Scores, Injuries
And More - 14 Day Free Trial!
Easiest Time to Play is Now!
Nearly 66% Lifetime