All Times EDT
Site: Talladega, Ala.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 2:30-3:30 p.m., 4-5 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 2, noon-2:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 2 p.m. (1-6 p.m.).
Track: Talladega Superspeedway (oval, 2.66 miles).
Race distance: 500 miles, 188 laps.
Last year: Matt Kenseth won under caution after Tony Stewart triggered a 25-car pileup trying to protect the lead on the last lap.
Last week: Brad Keselowski won at Charlotte for his first victory since September 2012 at Dover. Kasey Kahne was second.
Fast facts: The race is the sixth in the 10-event Chase. Kenseth leads the standings, four points ahead of Jimmie Johnson. Kevin Harvick (29 points behind Kenseth) is third, followed by Jeff Gordon (-36), Kyle Busch (-37), Greg Biffle (-58), Kurt Busch (-59), Clint Bowyer (-63), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (-66), Carl Edwards (-67), Joey Logano (-75), Ryan Newman (-78) and Kahne (-81). ... David Ragan won the rain-delayed May race at the restrictor-plate track, hooking up with Front Row teammate David Gilliland in a two-lap overtime sprint. Johnson swept the season race at sister-track Daytona and was fifth in the first Talladega race. ... Gordon leads active drivers with six Talladega victories. ... Earnhardt has five victories at the track, winning a record four straight from 2001-2003. ... Brian Vickers will miss the rest of the season because of a blood clot in his right calf. Michael Waltrip was already set to drive Michael Waltrip Racing's No. 55 Toyota this week.
Next race: Goody's Headache Relief Shot 500, Oct. 27, Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, Va.
FRED'S 250
Site: Talladega, Ala.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 2, 5-7 p.m.); Saturday, race, 4 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 3:30-6:30 p.m.).
Track: Talladega Superspeedway (oval, 2.66 miles).
Race distance: 250.04 miles, 94 laps.
Last year: Parker Kligerman raced to his first NASCAR victory, winning under caution.
Last race: Timothy Peters won at Las Vegas on Sept. 28 for his second victory of the year, pulling away on a late restart.
Fast facts: Kyle Busch is making his ninth start of the season. He has a series-high four victories this year and 34 overall. The Sprint Cup driver has 19 victories this year in NASCAR's three national series, also winning four times in Cup and 11 in Nationwide. Overall, he has 124 victories, winning 28 times in Cup and 62 in Nationwide. He won Truck races at Talladega in 2009 and 2010. ... Matt Crafton leads the standings, 41 points ahead of James Buescher. ... Johnny Sauter won the season-opening race at Daytona, Talladega's sister track.
Next race: Kroger 200, Oct. 26, Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, Va.
Next race: O'Reilly Auto Parts 300, Nov. 2, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.
Last week: Kyle Busch won at Charlotte for the eighth time in the series, completing a season sweep at the track. He has 11 victories this season and a record 62 overall.
MAV TV 500
Site: Fontana, Calif.
Schedule: Friday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 7-8 p.m.); Saturday, race, 8:50 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 8 p.m.-midnight).
Track: Auto Club Speedway (oval, 2.0 miles).
Race distance: 500 miles, 250 laps.
Last year: Ed Carpenter won the season finale, and Ryan Hunter-Reay finished fourth for his first season championship.
Last races: Scott Dixon took the points lead in Houston on Oct. 5-6, winning the first race of the doubleheader and finishing second behind Will Power in the second. Dario Franchitti fractured two vertebrae and broke his right ankle in a last-lap crash in the finale.
Fast facts: Chip Ganassi Racing's Dixon, the series champion in 2003 and 2008, enters the season-ending race with a 25-point lead over Team Penske's Helio Castroneves. Dixon is guaranteed the title if he finishes fifth or better. He has four victories this year. The New Zealander won all three July races, winning at Pocono and sweeping the Toronto doubleheader. Castroneves won at Texas. ... Alex Tagliani is taking Franchitti's place in Ganassi's lineup. ... AJ Allmendinger is driving a third Penske car, joining Castroneves and Power. ... The Indy Lights race also is Saturday (NBC Sports Network, 7-8 p.m.).
Next race: Indian Grand Prix, Oct. 27, Buddh International Circuit, Greater Noida, India.
Last week: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel won the Japanese Grand Prix for his fifth consecutive victory and ninth of the season.
Next event: Toyota NHRA Nationals, Oct. 25-27, The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Las Vegas.
Last event: John Force won in Mohnton, Pa., on Oct. 6 to open a 65-point lead in the Funny Car standings with two events left. The 64-year-old Force has two straight victories and three this season to push his record career total to 137. Shawn Langdon won in Top Fuel, Jeg Coughlin in Pro Stock, and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.
AMERICAN LE MANS SERIES: Petit Le Mans, Saturday (Fox Sports 2, 11 a.m.-noon, 2:30-6:30 p.m.; Fox Sports 1, 6:30-8 p.m.; Fox Sports 2, 8-9 p.m.), Road Atlanta, Braselton, Ga. Online:
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Super DirtCar: Sunday, Brockville Ontario Speedway, Brockville, Ontario. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions

Advance Auto Parts Clash Betting News and Notes on Sun, Feb 2017 by Michael Cash
2017 NASCAR Changes on Wed, Feb 2017 by Michael Cash
Can-Am 500 Betting News and Notes on Sun, Nov 2016 by Blade
AAA Texas 500 Betting News and Notes on Thu, Nov 2016 by Blade


Driver Odds
Odds to Win the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup 2017 Championship
Kevin Harvick #4 +650
Jimmie Johnson #48 +700
Martin Truex, Jr. #78 +850
Joey Logano #22 +850
Kyle Busch #18 +850

Nascar Top Stories

Thumbnail Elliott, Earnhardt to start up front at Daytona Qualifying for the Daytona 500 took place on Sunday and Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Chase Elliott find themselves set to...
Thumbnail Earnhardt Jr. Favored in Daytona 500 Despite missing the better part of the 2016 NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series season, Dale Earnhardt Jr. is the early favorite to win the 2017...
Thumbnail Daytona 500 Odds We are about a month away from the 2017 Daytona 500. Here is an early look at the odds to win the race.