All Times EDT
Site: Richmond, Va.
Schedule: Friday, practice (ESPN2, noon-4 p.m.); qualifying (ESPN2, 5:30-7 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (ABC, 7-11 p.m.).
Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).
Race distance: 300 miles, 400 laps.
Last year: Denny Hamlin raced to his second straight September victory at his hometown track, holding off Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch.
Last race: Jeff Gordon held off Hendrick teammate Jimmie Johnson over a thrilling last 10 laps Tuesday in the rain-delayed race at Atlanta. Gordon won for the third time this year and 85th overall, breaking a tie with Bobby Allison and Darrell Waltrip for third on the career list behind Richard Petty (200) and David Pearson (105).
Fast facts: The race ends the regular season. The top 10 in the standings and the top two victory leaders from Nos. 11-20 will earn spots in the Chase. Five-time defending champion Johnson, Busch, Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch and Ryan Newman have wrapped up spots in the top 10. Brad Keselowski, a three-time winner this year, has locked up at least a wild-card spot. Dale Earnhardt Jr. is ninth in the standings, two points ahead of No. 10 Tony Stewart and 25 ahead of 11th-place Keselowski. Hamlin (12th) and Paul Menard (20th) are in position to earn a wild-card spot with a victory. Marcos Ambrose (21st) and David Ragan (23rd) could earn a wild-card spot with a victory and move into the top 20. Ambrose is seven points outside the top 20, and Ragan is 20 points out. ... In April, Kyle Busch won the Richmond spring race for the third straight year. Hamlin was second.
Next race: Geico 400, Sept. 18, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Ill.
Site: Richmond, Va.
Schedule: Friday, practice, qualifying (ESPN2, 4-5:30 p.m.), race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).
Track: Richmond International Raceway (oval, 0.75 miles).
Race distance: 187.5 miles, 250 laps.
Last year: Kevin Harvick raced to the last of his three 2010 Nationwide victories.
Last week: Carl Edwards won at Atlanta, overcoming an early pit-stop penalty and holding off Kyle Busch. Edwards has six Nationwide victories this year and 35 overall.
Fast facts: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. has 13-point lead over Elliott Sadler with eight races left. Reed Sorenson is third, 40 points behind Stenhouse. ... In the owner's standings, Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 18 Toyota has a 45-point leader over Roush Fenway's No. 60 Ford. Busch has driven the No. 18 in 18 of the 26 races, and Edwards has made 25 starts in the No. 60. Busch has seven victories this year and a series-record 50 overall. ... Hometown star Denny Hamlin won the April race at the track.
Next race: Dollar General 300, Sept. 17, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Ill.
Next race: Fast Five 225, Sept. 16, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, Ill.
Last week: Ron Hornaday Jr. raced to his record 49th Truck Series victory, winning on pit strategy at Atlanta. Clint Bowyer was second.
Site: Monza, Italy.
Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 8-9:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (Speed, 7:30-10 a.m., 4:30-7 p.m.).
Track: Autodromo Nazionale di Monza (road course, 3.6 miles).
Race distance: 190.8 miles, 53 laps.
Last year: Fernando Alonso overcame a poor start to give Ferrari a victory on its home track. McLaren's Jenson Button was second, 2.9 seconds back.
Last race: Sebastian Vettel won the Belgian Grand Prix on Aug. 28 for his seventh victory of the season and 17th overall. Red Bull teammate Mark Webber was second.
Fast facts: Defending series champion Vettel has a 92-point lead over second-place Webber. Alonso is third, 102 points behind Vettel. ... Bruno Senna is replacing Nick Heidfeld with Renault for the rest of the season. Heidfeld took over after Robert Kubica sustained a career-threatening injury in a rally-car accident in February. Senna, the nephew of Brazilian F1 great Ayrton Senna, was 13th in Belgium.
Next race: Singapore Grand Prix, Sept. 25, Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore.
Next race: Indy Japan 300, Sept. 17, Twin Ring Motegi, Motegi, Japan.
Last week: Team Penske's Will Power won the inaugural Baltimore Grand Prix for his second straight victory and sixth of the season. The Australian moved within five points of series leader Dario Franchitti with three races left.
Next event: O'Reilly Auto Parts Nationals, Sept. 15-18, zMAX Dragway, Concord, N.C.
Last event: Antron Brown became the first U.S. Nationals winner in both Top Fuel and Pro Stock Motorcycle, beating Del Worsham on Monday in the Top Fuel final. Mike Neff (Funny Car), Greg Anderson (Pro Stock) and Hector Arana Jr. (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won in the final event before the Countdown to the Championship playoffs.
WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Gold Cup Race of Champions, Friday-Saturday, Silver Dollar Speedway, Chico, Calif.; Sunday, Antioch Speedway, Antioch, Calif. Super DirtCar: Race Mania 7, Saturday, Autodrome Drummond, Drummondville, Quebec. Online:
U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Saturday, Terre Haute Action Track, Terre Haute, Ind. Online:

Recent NASCAR Discussions



Driver Odds
Odds to Win the 2016 Sprint Cup Championship
Kevin Harvick +275
Jimmie Johnson +450
Kyle Busch +600
Denny Hamlin +650
Joey Logano +700

Nascar Top Stories

Thumbnail Texas Roadhouse 200 Odds The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series continues its march toward the end of 2016 with the Texas Roadhouse 200 this...
Thumbnail Goody's Fast Relief 500 Odds The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series begins its final stage of the Playoffs this Sunday when drivers head to Martinsville to compete in the Goody’s Fast Relief...
Thumbnail Updated Sprint Cup Title Odds The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is down to its final eight drivers in the Playoffs. Here is an updated look at the odds to win the 2016 Sprint Cup...
Thumbnail Hellmann's 500 Picks The second stage of the Chase concludes today with the Hellmann’s 500. Here are some drivers we like to contend for today’s victory.
Thumbnail Fred's 250 Picks The NASCAR Camping World Truck Seriesopens up the racing weekend today with the Fred’s 250. Here are some drivers we like to contend for the win.
More inNASCAR Articles