Indians' Wedge wins AL Manager of the Year award, Diamondbacks' Melvin honored in NL Print
Written by Admin   
Thursday, 15 November 2007 03:29
MLB Headline News

 NEW YORK (AP) -Backups as ballplayers, Bob Melvin and Eric Wedge certainly caught on as managers.
The career .233 hitters were honored Wednesday as managers of the year, having found far more success in the dugout than on the field.
Wedge became the first Cleveland manager to win the AL award, chosen by a wide margin after the Indians and Boston tied for the best record in baseball. Melvin was the first Arizona manager to get the NL prize, picked after leading his young team to the top mark in the league.
There are nearly a dozen former catchers now managing in the majors.
``There's been quite the trend,'' Wedge said on a conference call. ``The catcher has to be aware and knowledgeable of every aspect.''
``It's a leadership position. That position demands a great amount of passion for your teammates and the game of baseball,'' he said.
Wedge and Melvin crossed paths years ago. A month after Colorado took Wedge from Boston in the November 1992 expansion draft, the Red Sox wanted a second-string catcher and signed Melvin as a free agent.
Wedge received 19 of the 28 first-place votes and got 116 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. He finished ahead of a pair of former catchers, the Angels' Mike Scioscia (62 points) and ex-Yankees manager Joe Torre (61). Terry Francona of the World Series champion Red Sox got 13.
``There's always challenges and unexpected challenges you go through over the course of six months. I think we were the extreme of that,'' Wedge said.
Wedge, a no-nonsense guy with a John Wayne calendar in his office, guided the Indians to a 96-66 record. Cleveland made its first playoff appearance since 2001, then lost to the Red Sox in Game 7 of the AL championship series.
Melvin was chosen on 19 of the 30 first-place ballots and got 119 points. Philadelphia's Charlie Manuel (76), Colorado's Clint Hurdle (58), himself a former catcher, and the Cubs' Lou Piniella (25) followed.
Melvin was honored for his steady hand in leading a team that sometimes started six rookies to a 90-72 mark. Back in the playoffs for the first time since 2002, Arizona swept Chicago in the first round before getting swept by Colorado in the NLCS.
``At the beginning, we were cautiously optimistic. We liked the young group,'' Melvin said on a conference call.
The 39-year-old Wedge played 39 games for Boston and Colorado in the early 1990s. He's done a lot better with the Indians since starting out 68-94 in 2003.
The Indians took over first place for good on Aug. 15 and went a major league-best 31-13 down the stretch. C.C. Sabathia, picked as the AL Cy Young Award winner Tuesday, and Fausto Carmona each won 19 games.
Cleveland rewarded Wedge with a three-year contract extension in July. ``I look at this as an organizational award,'' he said.
The 46-year-old Melvin played 10 years in the majors with seven teams. He managed Seattle from 2003-04, got fired and took over the Diamondbacks in 2005.
A year after Arizona went 76-86 and tied Colorado for last in the NL West, the Diamondbacks surged. They did it despite becoming the first team since the 1906 Chicago White Sox to have a league's best record despite the worst batting average.
Melvin's evenhanded approach meshed well with his young team, which lost stars Randy Johnson and Orlando Hudson to season-ending injuries.
Eric Byrnes and rookie Chris Young led the offense, and Melvin counted on ace Brandon Webb and closer Jose Valverde.
Manuel received seven first-place votes after Philadelphia won the NL East, Hurdle got four first-place votes with the NL champion Rockies and Piniella got two first-place tallies after winning the Central in his first season with Chicago.
``Originally, I thought it was Friday. You try to put it out of your mind, to an extent,'' Melvin said.
Scioscia got four first-place votes after leading Los Angeles to the AL West title. Torre, since hired by the Los Angeles Dodgers, got the other five first-place votes.
The BBWAA first presented the manager awards in 1983.
The NL Cy Young Award will be announced Thursday. San Diego's Jake Peavy, who led the league with 19 wins and topped the majors in ERA and strikeouts, is the heavy favorite.

MLB Team Pages

Top MLB Public Bets

View All: NFL |  NBA |  NCAAF |  NCAAB |  MLB |  NHL

MLB Futures

View All

Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Contact Us | Advertising | 888-99-SPREAD

THIS IS NOT A GAMBLING SITE – If you think you have a gambling problem click here.

Disclaimer: This site is for informational and entertainment purposes only. Individual users are responsible for the laws regarding accessing gambling information from their jurisdictions. Many countries around the world prohibit gambling, please check the laws in your location. Any use of this information that may violate any federal, state, local or international law is strictly prohibited.

Copyright: The information contained on website is protected by international copyright and may not be reproduced, or redistributed in any way without expressed written consent.

About: is the largest sports betting news site in the United States. We provide point spread news, odds, statistics and information to over 199 countries around the world each year. Our coverage includes all North American College and Professional Sports as well as entertainment, political and proposition wagering news.