|Helton's 2 errors from July 16 erased|
|Written by Admin|
|Tuesday, 24 July 2007 16:57|
The league reversed the calls made by official scorer Tony Krizmanich that had infuriated the slick-fielding Helton, who has committed just two other errors this season, and Rockies manager Clint Hurdle.
In the fourth inning of the Rockies' 10-8 win, Helton was charged with an error on a wild throw from right-hander Taylor Buchholz that was somehow deemed catchable. Hurdle called it the worst scorekeeping call he'd ever seen.
In the seventh inning, Helton knocked down Nate McLouth's one-hop shot and flipped to pitcher LaTroy Hawkins, who appeared to beat McLouth to the bag. McLouth was ruled safe, however, and Helton was charged with his second error, tying his career high and doubling his season total.
The league changed the calls so that Buchholz was charged with the first error and the second error was changed to a hit for McLouth.